Quick release question

Forum for kitesurfers
Badcoconut
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Postby Badcoconut » Sat Jun 15, 2002 10:06 am

I'm a beginner at this sport, haven't even gotten up on my board yet. I have however been drug across a field, luckily I was in the power loop and not my C-loop and was able to unhook before reaching the power lines.After reading about the recent tragedy I decided to install a quick release so with very little knowledge and a lot of internet surfing I ended up with this configuration. http://www.badcoconut.com/cloop.jpg .I would welcome some suggestions and comment. on the drawbacks of this set up.
Phil....

edmis
Medium Poster

Postby edmis » Sat Jun 15, 2002 6:21 pm

ok, there seem to be two major trends in quick release problem. first is using some kind of snap shackles which come from yachting world. the other way is simple and fool proof system being used by wipika and other modifications of it. main part there is metalic pin which connect two loops, pull out the pin and you are free.

i personnaly have sailed on racing yachts and have experienced problems with shackles and i would not trust my health to shackle.
so i will bet on wipika quick release. i cannot think of the way it could fail. no moving parts, nothing to fail, keep in sand for days and it will work

regards

edmis

Trikke
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Andora, Albenga, Tarifa
Favorite Beaches: Los lances, tarifa
Style: Waves to wakestyle, to g' old big airs!
Gear: '14 RRD 9m + 13,5m Obsession
RRD Poison 134x43, RRD AssoPigliatutto Pro, RRD Waveoff 5'6", RRD Domingo 5'8"x21"

Postby Trikke » Sun Jun 16, 2002 8:55 pm

I use a Wipika chicken loop and a snap shackle on my leash. I think it's the safest system available

Trikke
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Andora, Albenga, Tarifa
Favorite Beaches: Los lances, tarifa
Style: Waves to wakestyle, to g' old big airs!
Gear: '14 RRD 9m + 13,5m Obsession