Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

New to kitesurfing, please read inside.

Forum for kitesurfers
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Postby Guest » Thu Aug 15, 2002 8:35 am

Hi there, i'm new to kitesurf, however not at all new to power kiting or buggying.

I had a Blade 2 4.9mtr kite and buggy last year and was out every possible moment i got (when there was wind).

I had a kitesurf lesson the other day and i had to laugh, soon as i picked up the kite i knew exactly what i was doing, body dragging was very fun + easy, managed to get up wind very easily.

I had my mind set on getting an Airush lift... but one big problem!! no safety release! I need safety, i dont wanna be caught in a pickle.

Having read so much about X2 and it's safety it has inspired me to get one... there is not much difference in the price and i understand that the lifts are the same power category as the X2?

Advice appreciated.

I live right near the beach and we get onshore wind 90% of the time. Wind varies, summer is pretty crap, but autumn and winter is amazing (autumn starts in september!! yay!).

I weigh about 65-70kg.

I have decided to go for a fanatic spider 159cm board.

Thx for advice
Adam.

Postby Guest » Thu Aug 15, 2002 9:44 am

Adam,

the X2 is for very experienced riders.. and honestly it is not all the fuss which has been made around..

you should better try a middle ratio kite like the Aero (if you want to stay at Naish) or the Hydro (by Wipika) or the Toro (by North), those kite are really good and not only for beginers.. you would be amazed to know all the pro who are using those kites for their own fun..

you know the point in kiteboarding is to have fun, not the most professional equipement and honestly I'm sure that your progressions will be a lot better with a mid ratio kite/// try them and you will never ever want something else.. they are so stable, easy to relaunch and dam you can also have big air, very big one, if you understand yer kite

have fun

Greg