Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

advice on intro LF package please.

Forum for kitesurfers
Tad Slippy
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

advice on intro LF package please.

Postby Tad Slippy » Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:13 pm

Hello all... i've read just about every page on this forum trying to get as much info as possible. I'm ready to buy my first big kite and would love any insight you have. I'm a college student in NW Florida and don't have a lot of cash. I was looking to spend between $500-$700 for some older or possibly used gear as i'm sure my first kite will take a beating. I'm leaning toward the new Liquid Force switch package at http://www.realkiteboarding.com.
"Liquid Force Flight Kite 12m (16m flat) with Liquid Force control bar and Liquid Force Switch 165cm kiteboard complete with LF Sandal bindings"
all for $499 US
I'm guessing the kite is a 2001-02? from what i've read here.
I'm hoping that this set up would allow me to get some basic gear and a feel for the sport without having to tak out a loan :).. also at thsi price i can get mystarter gear and take a lesson ($180 for 3 hours) while i'm wating for it to arrive.
Does anyone have any experience with realkiteboarding.com?
Is the gear worth $499 to get me started, it's seems almost to cheap to be true?.. I figure I can shell out more for a real setup when i'm ready.

I am ~205lbs and will be flying in 10-15knt winds on the beach or sound. I've also had lots of experience with 2 handed kites, have spent a full weekend with an Airush 2m trainer and feel cumfortable enough with basic control, I have grown up sailing and racing small boats (Hobie 16, Laser, Sunfish, 420)most of my life on small boats.

one last thing.. i know i'm no where near needing a harness yet but does anyone know if it's possible to use my super nice seat harness from the hobie for kiting?
Any adivce, or suggestions appreciated thanks - Jon

stonezone
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None