spleeft
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2002
Style: Waves
Gear: North Vegas, surfboards
Brand Affiliation: None

North 08' bar donkey dick issue/ rep warranty issue pending

Postby spleeft » Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:20 pm

I've been riding north kites for 5 years now and truly love them, but I've recently discovered a serious problem that caused me to loose a new kite to the offshore wind Ocean gods( viewtopic.php?f=162&t=2348945 ) , and to almost injure my friend. He had just launched and the bar "snapped " off the hook , holding on he lofted slightly and was able to get it hooked back in before he was dragged into a nasty wooded board walk. The donkey dicks will unknowingly break and will cause the bar to "snap" off the hook when you least expect it.
I was riding yesterday in 25knts winds /overhead waves near Ocean City Maryland ,on a new 08' 9m2 Vegas ( that was preforming great!) that I just bought to replace the one i lost,(see lost and found post).
I had just had a nice fast wave ride, the lines slacked slightly, and when I turned upwind a bit to tension the lines the bar just snapped off the hook. Holding on with one hand at that moment, I had to let go and subsequently eject completely so the fifth line wouldnt tear the kite in half (thats another story!) when the kite was engulfed by a wall of white water. This is the same thing that happened when I lost my kite back in July.
I'm not complaining about the North warranty service or anything like that..yet..! I am contacting them now as I post this. i suspect that I will get a "fix" for the issue to prevent it from happening again suggested to me. Although now that I know about it, I will know to watch out for it and hopefully all North kite users who read this will too! Watching my new Vegas blow out to sea was very painful, but not as much as an injury. Will keep you all posted on rep feedback.

Hybridkiter
Medium Poster

Re: North 08' bar donkey dick issue/ rep warranty issue pending