Gear: North Evo 2011: 6m, 9m,
North Evo 2010: 12m
Nobile 666 - Womens edition 126/38
Cyclone Kitesurf board
Nobile Skimboard
Brand Affiliation: None

North Evo 2010

Postby Kite Kasia » Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:24 pm

After reading reviews on Evo 2009 I'm quite interested to see/hear any news on 2010 model.

I have been flying Rebels for past 2 years and my fist kite I learnt on was lovely Vegas 06 ;-)
I don't think I can go back to Vegas after flying Rebels, but I wonder if Evo would be a better option for me.
I'm not a wave rider, as I don't come from surfing backround I don't think I will ever get into real waveriding. I'm slowely progressing into freesyle, first kiteloops and more unhooked moves - I really enjoy it.
There is nothing wrong with my 09 Rebels, there are quite amazing kites - upwind machines, work well in light winds, very stable in the air, easy to relaunch and solid build.
But I'm hearing more and more about Rebels being designed for waveriding and racing, while Evo being a more of freeride/freestyle kite and much better for progressing all those unhooked moves and learing new tricks.
I'm bit concerned about bridal system on Evo and wondering if anyone had any problems?
What I love about the Rebel is the safety of 5th line setup and no bridals - seen kites getting cought in the lines and looping and looping and looping...

Don Lester
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Local Beach: Sherman Is.
Favorite Beaches: Sherman Is. Ca.
Los Barriles, Mx
Style: All
Gear: TT, Surf, Foil

Re: North Evo 2010

Postby Don Lester » Wed Jul 29, 2009 7:19 pm

Kasia, I would worry FAR more about the 5th line wrapping than any bridle problems on the Evo. The Evo is a great freestyle and wave riding kite on 4-lines as well as 5............ Rebels are also good, but the Evo's are GREAT............

waves1111
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2001
Local Beach: Kahala, Mokuleia or Kailua, Hawaii
Favorite Beaches: WBP & Mokes
Style: Waves