Forum for kitesurfers
rightguard
Very Frequent Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Softest landing board

Postby rightguard » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:56 pm

I'm just learning how to pop and send jumps... it's beating up my knees and back. What is the nicest softest landing board?

I ride in Chop... Maui... some waves, 170lbs I'm not a supper aggressive rider, just want something to help my body out.

Thanks

Peter_Frank
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Softest landing board

Postby Peter_Frank » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:25 pm

There is some differences in how hard a board will "feel" on the impact, true.

Generally I would say, that boards that are good for waveriding (rockered, curved lines and soft edges) will be much softer. And not too wide either - is also a plus....

BUT, I honestly think that the soft landing mostly depends upon experience and practice - so as you are new to jumping you will get many "fall like a rock" landings - but dont despair - it will disappear when you get more mileage under your wings, and you will be able to land feathersoft most of the time :thumb:

So you can just wait, save your money, and look forward to everything getting softer from now on, with a few "tough falls" now and then :naughty:

8) Peter

rightguard
Very Frequent Poster

Postby rightguard » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:48 pm

Thanks Peter... I feel like I'm getting the hang of sent jumps, even though they are small, it's the pop jumps that seem like a hard landing. Do those get better too?

Right now I'm riding a mako 140 and I like the board but my knees and back are not liking kiting these days. I've also been riding way more than I usually do so that doesn't help, although I'm getting better.

To me smaller with more rocker would be good, but all the big rocker boards get so wide.

hapa13
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Style: kook
Gear: like to try everything

Postby hapa13 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:43 pm