Style: freestyle
Gear: 145 Cab Rival with 2010 Sync Bindings
2012 14m LF NRG light breeze
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Untangling lines

Postby celly » Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:43 am

Since I am new to kiteboarding and am forced to always drift lanch the combination of the two sometimes equal line tangles. I have gotten better at being more careful with my lines but the odd time my lines will become crossed and sometimes it just gets messy. Basically my question is, is there a way to untangle your lines while out in the water? What happens, especially if it gets really messy like in the picture I have to head back to shore and redo all my lines. Is that the only option when things get this messy?
Attachments
GOPR2464.JPG

foam-n-fibre
Frequent Poster
Gear: DIY boards and OR kites

Re: Untangling lines

Postby foam-n-fibre » Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:58 am

The thing to be wary of is that if the wind is strong, if you start untangling things on the water you might get our kite rolling over and launching at a bad time. BUT, if the wind is light, and especially when snow kiting since that tends to be done in lighter winds, with a 4 line kite you can pretty much always untangle when in the water, if you can stand in shallows at least.

In that picture, I'd unhook the chicken loop, but keep the leash atttached. The black end of the bar needs to be pointed toward the kite and I think passed over the centre lines and passed between the centre lines and the red end. Then you'll have your centre line wrapped around your bar and will have to roll the bar to fix the centre lines, then fix the lines at each end. Now hook back in, undo your leash and untangle it and reconnect it.