Local Beach: Egmond aan Zee
Favorite Beaches: Egmond aan Zee
Style: Freeride
Gear: F-One Bandit & Shadow
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

North Whip or Brunotti Kite Wave?

Postby waitz » Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:11 am

I live by the north-west coast of Holland, where there almost always is quite some waves with the wind. But in the summer it is often lower wind and less waves.

And for these conditions I am looking for a second board for a 12m Bandit. My other board is a f-one trax 134x39

My primary goal is to be able to play in lighter wind, and just have a nice time surfing

I have had two recommendations for boards which are on sale around me:
1. Brunotti Wave board - 5'8'' from 2012 or 5'4'' from 2010
2. North Whip - 5'4'' from 2012 (most expensive of the 3)

I am 178cm and approx 74kg, and I am still learning.

The question is: Any recommendations between the two boards, and if so, which length?

Peter_Frank
Very Frequent Poster

Re: North Whip or Brunotti Kite Wave?

Postby Peter_Frank » Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:07 pm

You have to decide whether you want a light wind board, or a board for waves 8)

As these are NOT the same....

The 5"4 Whip is a really good lightwind waveboard with a wider tail and flat rockerline - goes really early and still fun, so not a "normal" waveboard.

Whereas the Brunottis are more "typical" wave surfboards, narrower and smaller so dont start as early - but they will be REALLY fun when there IS waves and a bit of wind.

I've surfed both of these - but not all "years"...

You should go for the 5"8 if a Brunotti IMO, as I think the 5"4 is small even for 74kg.
Or the 5"4 Whip which I think will suit you perfectly :naughty:

As said - a good waveboard does not start much earlier than a modern good TT board, so you need to go beyond the "typical" waveboard if you want to have a light wind board IMO :thumb:

:D Peter

SupaEZ
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Space coast Florida 5th street
Favorite Beaches: One block from condo