All times are UTC + 1 hour

[ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Still new to jumping - advice?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:10 pm 
Medium Poster

I'm new to jumping and every time I catch some air I drop my board - how can I get over my fear of jumping and thinking that I will bath my knees into my face?

{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
 Post subject: Re: Still new to jumping - advice?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:18 pm 
Frequent Poster

extremecabarete wrote:
I'm new to jumping and every time I catch some air I drop my board - how can I get over my fear of jumping and thinking that I will bath my knees into my face?

You want to land softly. I found that I was sheeting out to avoid going too high, but that was causing me to land really hard. If you keep the bar sheeted in you will go higher, but will also land softly. Also dont take the kite much past 12.

I have never even come close to bashing my knees in my face so Im not sure where that fear comes from. If I have a hard landing I might worry about tearing a tendon or something though.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:45 pm 
Very Frequent Poster

Hey,

You would really have to hit the water super hard to make your knees bash your face.

Don't go out in mental winds and take things slowly.

remember to send the kite while still edging and once the kite goes past 12, slowly move it back above yourself while keeping the bar pulled in a bit. If you push the bar out you will drop like a rock.

Keep jumping to deep water, never shallower than 1m IMO.

Hope that helps.

Tony

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:26 pm 
Frequent Poster

start with longer, low jumps and then when you are comfortable with that, move on to more hight.