*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:58 am 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 27
I made a little video.

The kite lines mount is a lot of fun and you really get to see yourslef :-)

But watch out on lines tangling!

I made a little video that ends with my lines getting tangled due to the camera mount on the central lines.

The video is here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoUHDRG ... e=youtu.be

Some videos on line recommend not to use all rubber 'line stopper' to make sure that you emergency system can work without obstacles (i.e. the lines mount). But, if you do not use all rubber stopper you increased your chance of lines tangling. I reckon in any case that the emergency release and complete depower of the kite would work as the pull of the kite will be much stronger than the rubber stopper grip on the life-line.


{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 1:49 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 32295
Location: World (KF Admin)
please post your link again, it is broken.

use the URL tags, you find the button above, in between you have to add the link.

Code:
[url]link here[/url]


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 3:31 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:22 pm
Posts: 157
I like the line mount too but it is a pain in the ass to setup and I also had 1 bad line tangle.

My first time, I used only 1 rubber as advised then my kite stalled after a jump, got line tangled and the mount broke in half. Camrig sent me a new one ;)

I have a high Y setup so the lifeline is not an issue. I set up all 4 rubbers now and haven't had any issues last couple of times i used it. Launch can be sketchy, ideally you need one guy launching your kite and one launching your gopro lol

One time I had 4 rubbers thing on and got a small tangle the camrig setup slid down the lines but didn't break. So i don't think the lifeline would be an issue even with rubbers on, if the kite pulls you enough it will slide down easily. You don't need so much force to pull the lines through so I don't think i would be an issue.
Though it is possible that line mount with or without all rubber make a big line mess which would disable your life line.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:07 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 27
[quote="Toby"]please post your link again, it is broken.

use the URL tags, you find the button above, in between you have to add the link.

https://youtu.be/KoUHDRGzInc

thanks for saying


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:09 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 27
jeromeL wrote:
I like the line mount too but it is a pain in the ass to setup and I also had 1 bad line tangle.

My first time, I used only 1 rubber as advised then my kite stalled after a jump, got line tangled and the mount broke in half. Camrig sent me a new one ;)

I have a high Y setup so the lifeline is not an issue. I set up all 4 rubbers now and haven't had any issues last couple of times i used it. Launch can be sketchy, ideally you need one guy launching your kite and one launching your gopro lol

One time I had 4 rubbers thing on and got a small tangle the camrig setup slid down the lines but didn't break. So i don't think the lifeline would be an issue even with rubbers on, if the kite pulls you enough it will slide down easily. You don't need so much force to pull the lines through so I don't think i would be an issue.
Though it is possible that line mount with or without all rubber make a big line mess which would disable your life line.



spot on... same thinking here


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:39 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:41 pm
Posts: 13
Can you please share a picture of how it was the cam rig on the lines?
What what is ur sugestion for this not happen ?


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:29 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:22 pm
Posts: 157
I have a high Y setup (f-one bar) so I put my camrig roughly 2 feet from Y on center line.

Line wrap can happen anytime your kite stalls and lines falls slack on top of the camrig/gopro. I have even had a line wrap around the high Y without camrig... I haven't had a kite stall in a long time though, usually it happens when I jump with rotation and land backward then i don't redirect kite hard so it stalls

I would say don't use it if your kite stalls often on jump or if you are not comfortable in surf. I have some friends who have never had any issues but they probably are a little more risk adverse when kiting. If you wipe out often expect the lines to wrap around camrig and have to self rescue and re rig...

Here is an example of my setup:


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:58 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:01 pm
Posts: 339
Example of a low V mount just above the swivel. The only time I have had things go #%@$ is when self launching or self landing. Please excuse the light wind day...but we just could not pass up a 10 mile down winder in the slicks here in New England somewhere :)

[youtube]https://youtu.be/V106idmdhdI[/youtube]

https://youtu.be/V106idmdhdI


Last edited by NHKitesurfer on Fri Oct 23, 2015 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:01 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 27
NHKitesurfer wrote:
Example of a low V mount just above the swivel. The only time I have had things go #%@$ is when self launching or self landing. Please excuse the light wind day...but we just could not pass up a 10 mile down winder in the slicks here in New England somewhere :)

[youtube]https://youtu.be/V106idmdhdI[/youtube]



the link is not working :-/


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Camrig Lines Mount Kitesurf
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:02 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 27
jeromeL wrote:
I have a high Y setup (f-one bar) so I put my camrig roughly 2 feet from Y on center line.

Line wrap can happen anytime your kite stalls and lines falls slack on top of the camrig/gopro. I have even had a line wrap around the high Y without camrig... I haven't had a kite stall in a long time though, usually it happens when I jump with rotation and land backward then i don't redirect kite hard so it stalls

I would say don't use it if your kite stalls often on jump or if you are not comfortable in surf. I have some friends who have never had any issues but they probably are a little more risk adverse when kiting. If you wipe out often expect the lines to wrap around camrig and have to self rescue and re rig...

Here is an example of my setup:


Great spot!!! :-)


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blu, felixp, flysurfing, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group