*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:52 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:27 am
Posts: 263
Can you use the Hero 3 remote with it? If no, does it come with a waterproof remote? If no, which waterproof remote is compatible with it? Haven't been able to find out online or at Best Buy.


{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:12 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:40 pm
Posts: 638
http://goprouser.freeforums.org/does-the-hero-4-ship-with-the-remote-t20284.html


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:29 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:34 am
Posts: 179
Yeah really hard to get any good info any where.
Yes it does work with the remote from the 3.
Really easy to sink up too.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:58 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:27 am
Posts: 263
So if I am understanding this correctly, the GoPro Hero 3 Black remote should sync with Hero 4. Correct? Weird because I tried it several different ways and it wouldn't sync. Not sure why. Put the camera in remote search setup and had the remote searching to no avail. Got frustrated and returned the Hero 4 back toBest Buy.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:24 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:40 pm
Posts: 638
I've used my iPhone as a remote with my 3+, but it really drains the camera battery fast when skiing and it is cold, so I'm not sure I would use the remote much. But it is fun watching the video playback of my last run while riding up on the chairlift.

I think the also have an Android phone app for remote control.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:27 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:45 pm
Posts: 1565
Location: The Gorge
Dave_5280 wrote:
I've used my iPhone as a remote with my 3+, but it really drains the camera battery fast when skiing and it is cold, so I'm not sure I would use the remote much. But it is fun watching the video playback of my last run while riding up on the chairlift.

I think the also have an Android phone app for remote control.


How long do you get your gopro to last in the cold? i took mine skiing last season and was only getting like 20-30 minutes of battery life - not even while recording, total time on.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:50 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 719
Location: Sailing the Seas of Cheese
I have a Hero 4 Silver. (I don't believe GoPro is selling any Hero 4's bundled with a remote like the Hero 3+Black does)

I did purchase the WiFi remote as well (same remote as for Hero 3). It DOES definitely work. When pairing, setup the camera to search for the remote. Take your remote, look at the bottom of it, there's a the correct pairing method printed on the bottom. (hold the power and mode buttons together for 5 seconds) It will pair instantly.

I recently got the Smart Remote because I wanted the better battery life and the 3rd mode button. It pairs a little differently. (uses the 3rd mode button) If you are buying a Hero 4, make sure you buy the SMART remote, not the WiFi remote. They are the same price!

Both work for 100% certain. The only issue I've encountered is when I had the remote paired to the camera and then paired my Droid phone too. It seems like the camera gets confused as to which item to pair to. I fixed this by resetting the camera and just pairing the remote as I'll really only use one or the other. I haven't tried pairing the Smart remote and Droid yet to see if both will work, but the WiFi remote and phone don't seem to work together.

Get the Hero 4 Silver, it's a great camera and worth the extra $50 over the 3+.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:42 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:44 am
Posts: 1106
Location: Nutley NJ USA #1
does the gopro 3 have a smart remote?


and

does either or both remotes turn the pro on and off

cause my experiences have been that the go pro gets warm when its on n not recording
and creates fog!


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:13 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:40 pm
Posts: 638
dyyylan wrote:
Dave_5280 wrote:
I've used my iPhone as a remote with my 3+, but it really drains the camera battery fast when skiing and it is cold, so I'm not sure I would use the remote much. But it is fun watching the video playback of my last run while riding up on the chairlift.

I think the also have an Android phone app for remote control.


How long do you get your gopro to last in the cold? i took mine skiing last season and was only getting like 20-30 minutes of battery life - not even while recording, total time on.


I think it was about that or maybe 15 minutes more. I try to top off the battery before use and keep it warm. This season I have multiple batteries to change them out. I usually turn the camera off between runs. Here's one of my runs: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Q936SEzLR7Q

In the summer months I get 90 minutes.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Another GoPro Hero 4 question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:51 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 7:06 pm
Posts: 2349
Location: MD
dyyylan wrote:
...How long do you get your gopro to last in the cold? i took mine skiing last season and was only getting like 20-30 minutes of battery life - not even while recording, total time on.

dyyylan, turn it off between uses. you'll get normal battery life if you do that. the cold can cause some issues but it's much better powered off and even better if you keep it in a pocket between uses. Even in a pants pocket I am able to get a full day's use pulling it out as needed several times during the day, and having it out for an entire long run. And, yes, if all else fails keep a spare battery in a warm place. ;)

My impression of the GoPro is that whatever mode you have it in, it seems to use the same battery usage whether it is recording or not. It seems like it is constantly processing video, for instance, but just not saving it to your card. You can test this out by leaving your camera powered on in stills mode. The battery will last much longer than it does in video mode. Even if the stills are actively being captured. Maybe they changed this on the 4, but that's how it was on all prior cameras I used....


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], John-B and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group