Metaphor_
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

kite size for me / calculator?

Postby Metaphor_ » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:27 pm

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to kiteboarding and would like to get some kites and a board now that I can ride upwind. I found a kiteboarding calculator here - is it accurate? http://jimbodouglass.blogspot.ca/2011/0 ... lator.html

I'm 6', 165-170lbs, and will be kiting in Squamish and Toronto area. Squamish is around 15-25kts, where Toronto is usually under 10kts. My instructor's usually been putting me on a 10m with a 150 bidirectional board in Squamish and it's worked well. Haven't yet kited in Toronto.

I recognize these are two really different situations, so any recommendations for equipment for each area?

edt
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: ride hard, no regrets

Re: kite size for me / calculator?

Postby edt » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:35 pm

that calculator is close enough. how many kites you gonna buy. 170 pounds so I would say 1 kite get something between 10-14m, 12 is a typical size that will give you decent wind range, 2 kites, add a light wind kite between 14-21, 3 kites add a nuking days kite between 5-9m 4+ kites fill in the gaps.

jbdc
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Ashbridges Bay, ON
Cherry Beach, ON
Hanlan's Point, ON
Favorite Beaches: Hanlan's Point, ON
Cherry Beach, ON
Ashbridges Bay, ON
Delray Beach, FL
Style: Intermediate
Gear: 2012 Pansh Aurora 15m
2010 Slingshot Octane 13m
2011 Cabrinha Crossbow 9m
2012 Ocean Rodeo Rise 7m
2012 Ocean Rodeo Cypher 5m

2010(?) Imagine Surf Fat Fish 5'2"
2011 Nobile NBL 142x42cm
2012 Ocean Rodeo Mako FR 135x37cm

2004 Gaastra Force 14m
2002 Liquid Force Switch 185cm

Postby jbdc » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:45 pm