Forum for kitesurfers
Maidra
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kite Tuning Help!

Postby Maidra » Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:00 pm

Hey guys, relatively new to the sport just have a quick question about my 2008 16m liquid force session. About the second strut in from the wing tips, on either side, the kite seems to fold in on the leading edge when building momentum through the wind window. Sort of like a "flapping" motion. Now where I live there is no real kiting community and taking lessons isn't an option so everything is self taught. I haven't had the right conditions to get up and planing with the 16m session yet this summer but have been on the beach flying it and something feels off. I also own a 2004 12m flexifoil atom which flew with no real problems last summer and I was able to get up and planing. So this leads me to believe the problem has something to do with the lines/length maybe even the knots on the session. I am 5'11 165lbs with wind speeds anywhere from 15-30 kmh on a good day. Also riding on a 140cm slingshot twin tip. Thanks in advanced for you help!

knotwindy
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: baja, gorge
Style: erratic to none
Gear: yes, I use gear

Re: Kite Tuning Help!

Postby knotwindy » Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:18 am

hard to tell without seeing it but if it is both sides it is PROBABLY not pumped up hard enough. Can you bend the wingtip with your hand easily? if so, then just not enough air in it.

bnthere
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: South Padre Island and South Texas USA

Hood River and the Columbia River Gorge USA
Favorite Beaches: South Padre Island Texas: year round the best flatwater and fall - winter - spring fun wave riding as well.
Style: all styles of kite riding
Gear: Blade
Mystic
WindAlert
Brand Affiliation: Blade
Mystic
WindAlert
Seadoo
Headzone

Postby bnthere » Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:26 am