Local Beach: Hua Hin
Style: Conservative
Gear: Ozone Cabrinha
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wave etiqutte

Postby Mjyates » Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:29 pm

So i'm pretty new to big waves although i have quite a bit of kiting experience. My question is what is this. Im kiting strapless, heading out to sea. Im faced with a massive crest and jibe away, only to get an earful from a fellow kiter who was coming down the face. What am i supposed to do? Take the hit so he can enjoy his wave? He was obviously a competent wave rider, albeit rather sour.

tautologies
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Wave etiqutte

Postby tautologies » Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:27 pm

Was it a breaking wave? With a kiter on it? I'm not sure if I understand...if you are facing a wave and turn yo get away then you should not be in his way?

Also...some people are just grumpy by nature...disregard those....but probably a good idea to not snake waves :)

Starsky
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Starsky » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:13 pm

Your not supposed to get into the situation. Need to have your head out of the boat enough to see when someone is coming in on a wave and avoid that wave all together. If your going to pinch it close enough to get anywhere near him you gotta know you can get up and over it. If conditions are big and needing to chicken jibe is even likely, do it early on the wave before. Your right of way goes out the window when it poses risk to the rider whose focus is on riding the wave itself.

plummet
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: EE
Favorite Beaches: NZ
Style: Terrain riding
Gear: Old wornout ozone.
Plummet hydrofoil and mutant

Postby plummet » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:43 pm