Gear: - Cabrinha SwitchBlade 2014 - 9 - 12 m

-Xenon Laluz 135
-Shinn Monk Forever 134
-LiquidForce - Recoil 130
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Shinn Monk in Egypt

Postby Captain_East » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:41 pm

Hey, I'm a beginner trying to get some progress. I'm 180 lbs and 5'9 (182cm). I ride mostly in the Red Sea of Egypt (Dahab, Ras Sudr, Gouna). water is almost flat but a bit choppy sometimes, 12 knots to 22 knots.

Riding SB 12m, board : Cabrinha Chopstick 139 - LF Recoil: 130

I know my gear sounds inadequate, that's due to I live here in Egypt and it's not so easy to buy sporting stuff.

The question is .. Would it be a good Idea if I get a Shinn Monk Forever 2013?

NEkitesurfing
Frequent Poster
Has thanked: 0

Re: Shinn Monk in Egypt

Postby NEkitesurfing » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:34 pm

I know all the three boards and I had and have the most fun with the monk forever. The chopstick is a little bit old fashioned but good in the chop like the name is telling us, but not the fastest board and not the most fun to ride. The Recoil offers good pop but is not the fastest board in general and upwind and quite heavy. The flex characteristic I would call simple. But that wouldn't be that important in glossy water. The Monk forever could replace easily the chopstick and recoil because it is at first so much more fun to ride, very fast, light, agile, comfortable because of the sophisticated board flex even in choppy conditions and easy to get the most out of it. The Monk show you what is possible in board technology today.
At the end only a real life test will show you which board serves you the best. I would suppose that the Monk Forever will win the competition.

heinzbush
Medium Poster

Postby heinzbush » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:11 pm

just fyi - they just released the 2014 Shinn Monk Forever... but from what I understand, the only changes are graphics, fins and footpads...

so if u can get a better deal on a 2013, go for it...

Kite2Heaven
Frequent Poster