*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 6:28 am 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 6:24 pm
Posts: 6
This season I bought my first c-kite, a 2012 9m Slingshot Fuel, and I totally fell in love with the way the c-kite handles and preforms. It is just so raw, direct and simple!
Now I am looking to get a second (bigger or maybe smaller) c-kite fill my quiver.

I am eying on the 2012 Best GP as I can't find any more cheap Fuels at the moment.
My question does anyone know if the GP will fly off 4-lines well? Is the 5th line loaded on the GP?
I really don't want to spend more money on a 5-line bar as I already have plenty of good bars.

Found a post from several years ago about the LF Nirvana being able to fly on 4 lines (probably not as good as on 5 lines) but it still make me wonder if other c-kites like the GP, Torch, or Vegas can be tuned to work on 4 lines without major structural complications during flight... :?:


{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:02 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Posts: 2636
Location: Ford Lake, Michigan
only the fuel and best extract are designed to be flown with 4 lines my advice save up for another fuel.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:23 am 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 6:00 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Austria
manaic is 4 line too. might be hard to find one cheap though.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:02 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:15 am
Posts: 1515
i can tell u torch is epic fail on 4 lines - does work but kind of like 2002 "work"

i have ridden the switchblade with lines directly attached to kite, works, but same as above though.

the combats (switch) work on 4 lines well especially the smaller ones


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:49 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:58 pm
Posts: 722
I just broke the 5yh line on my Razor. Had to fly it to shore in 4 lines

does not work

why dont u convert 1 of those bars to suit your need?


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:11 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:10 am
Posts: 199
Gear shed sports website, cheap fuels


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:44 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Poland
Tiago1973 wrote:
I just broke the 5yh line on my Razor. Had to fly it to shore in 4 lines

does not work

why dont u convert 1 of those bars to suit your need?


Razor can be flown on 4 lines, but you need to make a bridle for it. There is a manual to do that on Airush site


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:24 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:47 am
Posts: 386
I see cheap Fuels here: http://www.windance.com/Used-Gear-Used-Kites/


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 8:27 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:02 am
Posts: 99
Location: South Pacific
jedi1 wrote:
Tiago1973 wrote:
I just broke the 5yh line on my Razor. Had to fly it to shore in 4 lines

does not work

why dont u convert 1 of those bars to suit your need?


Razor can be flown on 4 lines, but you need to make a bridle for it. There is a manual to do that on Airush site


It's the same idea as the Hadlow pro 6th line. You can reproduce it on any V bridled C-kite


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Converting 5-line C-kite to 4-lines?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:16 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 1440
baobob wrote:
jedi1 wrote:
Tiago1973 wrote:
I just broke the 5yh line on my Razor. Had to fly it to shore in 4 lines

does not work

why dont u convert 1 of those bars to suit your need?


Razor can be flown on 4 lines, but you need to make a bridle for it. There is a manual to do that on Airush site


It's the same idea as the Hadlow pro 6th line. You can reproduce it on any V bridled C-kite


I have thought about this before but theres the issue with the safety and on v bridled C kites the length of the V has a huge effect on how the kite flies so how could you make sure that the kite still flies well on 4(6) lines??


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group