Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Boardriding Maui CS Bar Review (no chicken loop or leash)

Forum for kitesurfers
herbert
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Kailua
Style: directional
Gear: RRD
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Boardriding Maui CS Bar Review (no chicken loop or leash)

Postby herbert » Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:42 am

This is a bit of a combo of an overview, a review, and a sharing of how I use the Boardriding Maui Cloud Connection System....that is, the bar designed for the BRM Maui Cloud kites. I ordered one as soon as they became available and have used it in 7 sessions. Obviously it works with the Cloud kites. I used it with my RRD kites and it worked perfectly with them also. I am no expert. I am intermediate at best. So in my case I didn't feel it would be right to post a review without having used it at least a half dozen times. I don't think I could not have really spoken decently to the subject after one use.

The website if you are curious:

http://boardridingmaui.com/connection-system.html

I had too much free time, and it got pretty long, so I put my summary up up front:

A safer system because:
Less things to catch a kite line on which would screw up de-power, flag or release....risking injury or ....
Full de-power within reach of throw range (even those with shorter arms).
Single front line flagging.
One single quick release lets whole kite go (with option but without need to flag first)
Obligatory practice emergency release each session, as that is the mechanism for routine disconnect.
Both flagging and emergency release up close and in front.

Other nice features:
Really light.
No dangling leash. No leash period.
Can eliminate hook from spreader bar...if you want. (Good if you sleep face down while wearing a harness)
Handle cover glued AND stitched on.

Challenges:
You must learn to wrap your lines differently. (But once you do, you won't need to completely walk and separate your lines before each session).