Style: unique
Gear: whats best for when i wear sleepers
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Help with Kites & Board size

Postby Needlecraft » Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:11 pm

Hello there ,
i am new to the kitesurfing world and I would wish to have further information despite having read a lot online!

I would be looking into buying North EVO 2014 kite however i am getting slightly confused between wind charts (which is easy to understand) and my weight , these two factors combined do not seem to necessarily point to a say 8m kite with 16-35 knots (North EVO charts) for my weight and height ...

I am 1.74 meters height and weight 73KG

i would like to ideally to buy a 2 quiver kite 8 & 10 but would those 2 kites would allow for my weight to kite with a range of 14 (10m) to 35(8m) knots?
as you can read i am not even sure that my question makes sense too so confused i am!

in terms of board should i also select something like a 134 or 138 ?

many thanks for time reading and helping me

MACTNKA
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Nantucket
Favorite Beaches: Madaket harbor, south shore, jetties
Style: Freestyle
Gear: Core, xennon

Re: Help with Kites & Board size

Postby MACTNKA » Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:42 pm

At your weight, you should get an 8 and a 12 and then you can ride in 14-35mph. It'll be good if you can get two boards also, cause even 134 is big for 35 knots for you. Would be best to have 135-6 one for everyday, and 128-131 for those crazy nuking times! Have fun learning

UKRob
Rare Poster
Gear: North Rebel 11m (2012)

Postby UKRob » Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Hey Needle craft, I'm a novice too! I went for a Rebel 11m as my first kite one of the main reasons being I wanted the North 5th line safety, I've just bought a 7m Rebel second hand to complement it. Hopefully this will be a pretty good span. Incidentally I weigh around the same as you, maybe a couple of kgs more.