Local Beach: Golden Gardens, Richmond Beach, Double Bluff
Favorite Beaches: Double Bluff, The Hatchery, Damon Point
Style: Freeride
Gear: Naish, Board Riding Maui
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Going back to C-Kites. SLEs are inferior for freestyle

Postby Osprey1 » Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:17 am

I've been kiting for 10 years now and spent the first 4 years riding true C-kites like the R4, Fuel and Vegas. After trying many different SLEs over the years, even those targeted at freestyle, there simply is no substitute for a true C kite when unhooking, mega-looping or boosting. Unless you're into hooked wave riding, racing or foiling I cannot see any advantage to an SLE period. The newer C kites which now have massive depower like the Vegas, Switch Legacy, Torch, etc. are just so much more fun to ride. They ride 'firm', turn fast, give massive unhooked slack and pop like hell and that's why I'm going back. SLE's had their day, but nothing beats a true C. :thumb:

slim_charles
Frequent Poster
Gear: The best

Re: Going back to C-Kites. SLEs are inferior for freestyle

Postby slim_charles » Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:25 am

Osprey1 wrote:I've been kiting for 10 years now and spent the first 4 years riding true C-kites like the R4, Fuel and Vegas. After trying many different SLEs over the years, even those targeted at freestyle, there simply is no substitute for a true C kite when unhooking, mega-looping or boosting. Unless you're into hooked wave riding, racing or foiling I cannot see any advantage to an SLE period. The newer C kites which now have massive depower like the Vegas, Switch Legacy, Torch, etc. are just so much more fun to ride. They ride 'firm', turn fast, give massive unhooked slack and pop like hell and that's why I'm going back. SLE's had their day, but nothing beats a true C. :thumb:
:thumb: ....regarding kite sales they must be praying the kooks don't realise this!

wedge
Frequent Poster

Postby wedge » Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:58 am