Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Hatteras to get another new bridge ... this one sucks.

Forum for kitesurfers
POACHER
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: ¤°

Hatteras to get another new bridge ... this one sucks.

Postby POACHER » Wed May 25, 2016 7:54 pm

Looks like the Feds have approved the "jug handle" bridge proposal for NC12. In a nutshell, they are spending almost 2 hundred million on a (very small) bridge/causeway that goes out into the sound and bypasses a difficult section of highway that gets damaged or flooded with every hurricane that hits the OBX.
https://apps.ncdot.gov/NewsReleases/det ... px?r=12548

They're reason (excuse) for doing this is that this bridge will be less of an environmental impact than doing a bridge over the existing Hwy 12. I'm no civil engineer or ecologist, but putting up a causeway out in the heart of the Pea Island Refuge seems really counter intuitive, excessive and unnecessary.

Now I'm just a one week a year visitor, so my opinon(s) shouldn't count for much. However I've been going to this area of Rodanthe for over 15 years. I'd like to know what the OBX residents think. Big deal, no big deal? I'd be super pissed if I was one of the soundside home owners that are now going to have a highway out their living room window.
The red arrow shows where the houses and popular kiting area is. What a shame....
Hatteras bridge.jpg
Last edited by POACHER on Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
These users thanked the author POACHER for the post:
Donniehall14 (Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:00 pm)
Rating: 3.03%

Laughingman
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Kettle Point, Mitchell's Bay, Rondeau Bay
Favorite Beaches: Kettle Point, Mitchell's Bay, Rondeau Bay, Long Bay, Cayo Guillermo, La Ventana
Gear: Ocean Rodeo Gen6 Flites 10m, 12m Gen2 Roams 6m and 8m, Cloud D 4.8, 6.2, 8.0, 10.4
Xeon Laluz, Mako Wide 150, Jellyfish Custom surf board quad fin 6', LF Impulse Foil and Kanaha Shapes 37" board
Engine Harness with slider