Local Beach: Long Island, Bay Side
Favorite Beaches: Tobay Beach, NY
Style: Laid back cruising - starting to jump
Gear: Griffin Argo 10m and 14m
Slingshot Turbine 17m
Brand Affiliation: None

Learning to ride a smaller board...

Postby MikeDobbs » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:12 pm

Hey everyone- this is my first post on here. I've been power kiting for years, and kiteboarding the last few. I had a difficult time learning to kiteboard, and saw tremendous improvements when I purchased a Spleene door 159. I've been kiting exclusively with that board for the last two years and doing well with it, but I'm having trouble transitioning to a smaller board. I have a Slingshot Ignition 142 (or 144 I can't remember), and when I try to ride it, it just feels slippery and unstable under foot. I can get up on plane, but am not able to stay upwind at all.

Here's a video of me riding my door, so you can get a sense of my riding style, body position, etc.

Does anyone have any tips on what I could do to get more comfortable on my smaller board?

Thanks!
https://youtu.be/vUm600XfYO8

(I couldn't figure out how to embed, so I just posted the link to the video)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUm600XfYO8

Bushflyr
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1999
Gear: OR Razor 7m
Caution Spitfire 9m, 10m
Firewire Vanguard 5' 4"
Naish Global 5' 10"
Shinn Monk

Re: Learning to ride a smaller board...

Postby Bushflyr » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:31 pm

You're putting your weight pretty equally on your feet it looks like. Also that board is sitting really deep in the water, you are going to need a lot more power when transitioning to a smaller (regular) board. Run a 2m bigger kite than you think you need and put all your weight on your back foot. Nice video editing BTW, I like all the different shots and angles, that takes a lot of work.

Mossy 757
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2013
Local Beach: First Landing State Park, Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Style: Kitefoil