Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Action cam tips

Forum for kitesurfers
ced1
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Cannon Rocks
Favorite Beaches: Cannon Rocks, Flag Beach, Anse la Raie, Witsands, Dolphin beach
Style: Big air, wave riding
Gear: Airush, Underwave

Action cam tips

Postby ced1 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:29 am

I've been using action cams for a few years now.
Getting good results in Kiteboarding has taken learning some tricks. I thought I'd share my experience and perhaps get some more tips from users out there.

The bulk of my experience lies with a go pro 3+ black. The hero 5 has taken away some of the problems. I'm thinking of the 5 once finances allow, but I'm sure there are a lot of people out there who could benefit from some of these tips which are specifically aimed at kiteboarding.

Cheers

Ced

http://www.cannonrocks.com/blog/action- ... he-casing/

http://www.cannonrocks.com/blog/action- ... nd-mounts/

jeromeL
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Longisland NY
Style: freestyle
Gear: Fone Bandit 2014 12m^2, 2015 9, 2015 7, 2015 14
Best GP 2015 9m
Star Sirius V2 12m
Nobile Fity/50 138cm
Naish Apex bindings.
Zeeko Green and White + Shinn El Stubbo
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Re: Action cam tips

Postby jeromeL » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:03 pm

Here is what i learned:

Fog
Never had fogging issue, minimize how long case is open, so when you take camera out close the case right away. Make sure you wipeout dry so water doesn't get in there.

First person action: for me it's helmetmount. I find video in mouth mouth not very stable. And mostly see my shoulder.
Use Superview setting so you get more vertical on the footage, in most case I can see both board and kite while riding.. instead of watching only water or sky...
I usually use 60fps unless I want to save space or battery?

On line mount I don't use Superview, I usually go M angle because camera is pretty far.

When shooting from a fix pole I go W so I don't miss shot.