Style: Freeride
Gear: Cabrinha, Peter Lynn, Ozone, RRD
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Twintip Advice for Heavy Rider

Postby BigD » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:10 am

Hi everyone,

I am in the process of buying a new twintip kiteboard and would like some help deciding on a size. I weigh around 130kg (290lb) and I am 1.88m (6'2) tall so if you are close to my weight that will be beneficial.

I have searched the forum and read everything I can, however, I am still confused about what board size will be right. Currently I am riding an RRD BS45 (145x45cm) light wind board. I am still a beginner but I would like my next board to be something I can advance on and that can also handle chop better than my current board (which has a very flat rocker and no channels).

My current riding style is freeride/freestyle, wind conditions normally range from 15-25 knots, and at the moment I ride in lagoons and lakes but I hope to get out into the ocean fairly soon.

The board I am looking at is the 2017 Slingshot Misfit and the sizes I am trying to decide between are 146x43.5cm and 142x42cm.

Which do you think would be the better size? I am also open to other twintip recommendations, I will be trying a Mako soon and maybe in the future I will move onto surfboards or foils.

Thank you.

Kamikuza
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Sabae Beach
Favorite Beaches: Ol' Stinky
Gear: This, that, the other

Re: Twintip Advice for Heavy Rider

Postby Kamikuza » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:26 am

You won't notice much difference. It's the law of diminishing returns--you can get a bigger board and kite but under 15 knots will still suck.

Get a foil board.

I'm the same height and almost same weight as you. I used 170x50 (but now only 140x43) for TT and big kites but you get sick of the fight. Especially when the little guys are flying upwind past you...

Foil is fun, efficient and effective. And you don't need to buy the massive kites

BigD
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Umdloti South Africa