forum for kitesurfers

raztec
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Gear: none
Brand Affiliation: None

Best control bar

Postby raztec » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:46 am

Newbie here looking to get the most simple, fail safe control bar that I can use with different kites (OR Prodigy and Cabrinha SB).

What's the consensus these days about which bar has the easiest, most simple release mechanism that doesn't deploy accidentally and can be reattached with ease?

Thanks
Amir

qbanboy14
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 1
Gear: cabrinha and crazy fly

Re: Best control bar

Postby qbanboy14 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:48 am

Ozone (Grip, safety, simple design), you just need to invert the ends for most kites.

knotwindy
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: baja, gorge
Style: erratic to none
Gear: yes, I use gear

Postby knotwindy » Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:11 am

There is absolutely no consensus whatsoever on this or almost any other kite topic. Everyone loves what they have settled for until they can't stand it and then find something else they love until they can't stand it. Kind of like dating!?!

Starsky
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Starsky » Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:15 am

There are tons. As a beginner get the bar that comes with your first kite. Most current bars are decent and won't hold you back, but best to get one thats tuned to work with your kite right off the bat. Eventually you learn how to tune a bar, but start with gear thats set up out of the bag. Differences are personal taste so give yourself a couple years to figure yours out. I'm super picky about bars and how they are set up. Pretty much have a full collection, all pretty different to suit a bunch of very different kites.

Peert
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2012
Local Beach: Kijkduin, IJmuiden, Schellinkhout, Wijk aan Zee, Pampus, Mirns.
Style: Freeride
Gear: Best Roca 4m, Cabo 7 and 9m, Naish Trip 10m, Modded Waroo 14m.