Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

forum for kitesurfers


sonny2727
Rare Poster
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:21 pm
Kiting since: 0
Gear: north, ozone
Brand Affiliation: None

can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby sonny2727 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:28 pm

Hi all,
is there any way to increase the range of depower available
ozone bar.jpg
ozone bar
ozone bar.jpg (17.29 KiB) Viewed 1077 times
by adjusting ozone clamcleat down? Some kite bars have adjustable cleat but I couldn't do this on Ozone bar.

windrider1
Frequent Poster
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:51 am
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: FLYSURFER, HQ KITES, OZONE KITES
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: NY

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby windrider1 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:10 pm

I dont think its adjustable like some others. . But I recently bought a bar to use with a foil kite and had the same issue . I basically took off the white colored bungee rope and put my own rope of equal thickness and strenght . Heres a tip its easier to soak the line in some water before u take it apart as its easier to loosen any knots. U will probally also have to add pigtails to your back lines however. I dont knw why the trend with some bars is now to give less and less depower at the trip strap . May be its to limit depower range so u will have to buy more kites..lol

iriejohn
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:04 pm
Kiting since: 0
Local Beach: West Sussex
Gear: this 'n that
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: South coast, UK

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby iriejohn » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:38 pm

Use a Slingshot Sentinel cleat - you can position it where you want.

Image

knotwindy
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 1042
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:49 am
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: baja, gorge
Style: erratic to none
Gear: yes, I use gear
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby knotwindy » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:51 pm

Maybe because the kite flies like shite if depowered too much and you should get on a smaller kite at a certain point. What that point is might be better determined by the designer than the average user. If you are better than average you can adjust it any way you want with a tiny bit of trouble. Just a guess?

windrider1
Frequent Poster
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:51 am
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: FLYSURFER, HQ KITES, OZONE KITES
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: NY

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby windrider1 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:43 pm

Na i don think so. While some kites only work well with 2 inches of depower . :P i think most kites can work with more. I call marketing gimmickry on this one.ive been flying kites over 12 years and see how the constant pressure to claim a new feature every year creates these nonsensical changes. cabrinha has taken this path also. Both them and ozone had decent depower throw on their bars then significantly reduced it s few years back . Just makes things harder if u want to swap kites and bars. Which equals more sales for them.
knotwindy wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:51 pm
Maybe because the kite flies like shite if depowered too much and you should get on a smaller kite at a certain point. What that point is might be better determined by the designer than the average user. If you are better than average you can adjust it any way you want with a tiny bit of trouble. Just a guess?

sonny2727
Rare Poster
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:21 pm
Kiting since: 0
Gear: north, ozone
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby sonny2727 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:43 am

windrider1 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:43 pm
Na i don think so. While some kites only work well with 2 inches of depower . :P i think most kites can work with more. I call marketing gimmickry on this one.ive been flying kites over 12 years and see how the constant pressure to claim a new feature every year creates these nonsensical changes. cabrinha has taken this path also. Both them and ozone had decent depower throw on their bars then significantly reduced it s few years back . Just makes things harder if u want to swap kites and bars. Which equals more sales for them.
knotwindy wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:51 pm
Maybe because the kite flies like shite if depowered too much and you should get on a smaller kite at a certain point. What that point is might be better determined by the designer than the average user. If you are better than average you can adjust it any way you want with a tiny bit of trouble. Just a guess?
well said, yes im trying to use the bar on a different kite and want to test with more depower.

badgb21
Frequent Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 8:55 am
Kiting since: 2004
Gear: C/Fly, Ozone, Cabrinha
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Hants UK

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby badgb21 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:03 pm

Why not just experiment with some extension pigtails first.


sonny2727 wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:43 am
windrider1 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:43 pm
Na i don think so. While some kites only work well with 2 inches of depower . :P i think most kites can work with more. I call marketing gimmickry on this one.ive been flying kites over 12 years and see how the constant pressure to claim a new feature every year creates these nonsensical changes. cabrinha has taken this path also. Both them and ozone had decent depower throw on their bars then significantly reduced it s few years back . Just makes things harder if u want to swap kites and bars. Which equals more sales for them.
knotwindy wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:51 pm
Maybe because the kite flies like shite if depowered too much and you should get on a smaller kite at a certain point. What that point is might be better determined by the designer than the average user. If you are better than average you can adjust it any way you want with a tiny bit of trouble. Just a guess?
well said, yes im trying to use the bar on a different kite and want to test with more depower.

sonny2727
Rare Poster
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:21 pm
Kiting since: 0
Gear: north, ozone
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby sonny2727 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:39 pm

badgb21 wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:03 pm
Why not just experiment with some extension pigtails first.


sonny2727 wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:43 am
windrider1 wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:43 pm
Na i don think so. While some kites only work well with 2 inches of depower . :P i think most kites can work with more. I call marketing gimmickry on this one.ive been flying kites over 12 years and see how the constant pressure to claim a new feature every year creates these nonsensical changes. cabrinha has taken this path also. Both them and ozone had decent depower throw on their bars then significantly reduced it s few years back . Just makes things harder if u want to swap kites and bars. Which equals more sales for them.

well said, yes im trying to use the bar on a different kite and want to test with more depower.
good idea but i thought there is a more flexible solution... so If i use the kite's original bar (North 5 line bar) i don't have to change the pig tails again. I have north 5 line bar and ozone bar but prefer to use ozone bar so I can use the north bar just for the loaded 5 line Rebel - hence I can keep the north bar till the Rebel die and then forget about 5 lines for good

evan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:48 pm
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Levitaz Bionic
Peter Lynn Aero
Brand Affiliation: Infexion
Peter Lynn
Contact:

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby evan » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:48 am

You can lower the cleat on an Ozone bar, only the thick PU tubing won't fit through the clamcleat-aerobase so you have to cut away the amount of tubing you want to lower your cleat.

If you don't want to cut into the original depower rope and don't mind one without tubing you can refit it 5-6mm bare dyneema rope. Just put two knots in the end so it won't slip through the chickenloop. (or one knot and melt the loose end).


Can make one for you or even one with a smaller diameter tubing so the cleat is moveable over the tube.

Mossy 757
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:10 pm
Kiting since: 2013
Local Beach: First Landing State Park, Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Style: Kitefoil
Gear: Delta Hydrofoil and board. Cabrinha Velocity 9m, Flysurfer Sonic2 11m, Elf Joker-7 15m

Re: can you adjust Ozone bar clamcleat position

Postby Mossy 757 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:38 pm

evan wrote:
Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:48 am
You can lower the cleat on an Ozone bar, only the thick PU tubing won't fit through the clamcleat-aerobase so you have to cut away the amount of tubing you want to lower your cleat.

If you don't want to cut into the original depower rope and don't mind one without tubing you can refit it 5-6mm bare dyneema rope. Just put two knots in the end so it won't slip through the chickenloop. (or one knot and melt the loose end).


Can make one for you or even one with a smaller diameter tubing so the cleat is moveable over the tube.
Yeah, the AMSTEEL Blue they sell at West Marine would make a suitable depower rope if you know how to splice...then you can pretty much make any geometry you want. Pigtails are a good idea, but then you have to get them exactly even with each other because you're making 2; with the depower rope, it's just that one rope that changes depower geometry.


Return to “Kitesurfing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bole, Google [Bot], kas911, twoAteThree and 42 guests