Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Local Beach: Buenos Aires
Style: Newbie
Gear: Neo 10, 12
Brand Affiliation: None

Recommendations for a kite

Postby hgrimberg » Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:18 am

I am still learning kitesurfing coming from windsurfing. I actually only want to use the kite when it is not windy enough for windsurfing so, I want a kite for when the wind is less than 15 knots. I weight 176 lbs. I purchased a North Neo 12 2017 but I am worried that it won't be enough for less than 15 knots... On the specs from North it was saying that it was better to choose 1 or 2 sizes less since the Neos were a lot more powerful than all the other kites from North. I was at first about to buy a Dice 13 but after reading that from North I chose the Neo 12. I still can change it since I still didn't use it... Any recommendation?

PullStrings
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: what works for the day

Re: Recommendations for a kite

Postby PullStrings » Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:33 am

For 14 knots to about 9kn consider a 15 sqm Juice if you like North

rleshem
Rare Poster

Postby rleshem » Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:51 am

It will be easier to learn (and way more fun) when the wind is >15knots.
So the 12 will be good. Sub 15knots 15m will be better.

knotwindy
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: baja, gorge
Style: erratic to none
Gear: yes, I use gear

Postby knotwindy » Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:17 am