AJ
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Hard shell harnesses comparison

Postby AJ » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:49 pm

Hi there
Anyone had a chance to try and compare Ride Engine with Dakine C1 and Mystic Majestic X ?
Aloha

maffhieu
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2008
Local Beach: Les Aresquiers
Gear: North Dice 12m 2016
North Dice 9m 2017
North Dice 7m 2018
North Team Series 2015
Ride Engine Silver Elite 2017
WOO 1.0
WOO 3.0

Re: Hard shell harnesses comparison

Postby maffhieu » Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:58 am

I've been riding with a Ride Engine for almost two years now...

I've only tried the Majestic X on the beach for a few minutes.

The Majestic X back plate has more flex (Ride Engine is super stiff) and the back of the Mystic is much flatter compared to the RE (lumbar lock)

Sun
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Tybee Island
Favorite Beaches: Cape Town, Cumbuco
Gear: 12m, 10m, 8m Dice SLS
6m Dice (2017)
Reedin Dreamstick X
Reedin Kev Pro 136 board w/ North Straps
Nobile XTR LW board
12m Hyperlink for LW
Mystic MajesticX Hardshell

Postby Sun » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:28 am

I have been using a medium MajesticX (with spreader bar and hook) for a few months now, I came from a medium 2015 Warrior.

Frankly, the first session with the MajesticX was very painful. It kept edging into my ribs, and I had a pretty sore back afterwards. I seriously considered selling it and returning to my trusty Warrior.

In a bid to keep face, I kept trying the MajesticX. Every session it got better. It has now surpassed the Warrior for comfort, in that I am COMPLETELY unaware that I am wearing it. It does not construct breathing, it does not dig into my ribs, it does not ride up. The biggest weakness the Warrior suffered from was a tendency to pinch on my sides when riding overpowered. The MajesticX does not do do this, it feels the same no matter the riding conditions. Or rather, I can’t feel it no matter how I ride.