Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

What to inspect when buying a used kite?

Forum for kitesurfers
espana2323
Rare Poster
Gear: No gear yet
Brand Affiliation: None

What to inspect when buying a used kite?

Postby espana2323 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:53 am

Hi all,

I am new at kitesurfing and looking to buy my first used kite. Can you please advise me on the things I should be checking on a used kite to determine the condition that it's in? I am planning to buy a Cabrinha Switchblade 2016 or 2015 kite, and I want to make sure that it will be in good condition and will last for some time.

Thank you.

-Mike

jumptheshark
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Shhhhh
Favorite Beaches: Nude
Gear: The good stuff

Re: What to inspect when buying a used kite?

Postby jumptheshark » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:44 pm

If you get to see the kite in hand, look it ALL over while inflated.

While the whole set up is susceptible to damage, many of us buy used kites remotely without the luxury of a hands on inspection. Here are a few tips:

It's always a crap shoot so don't spend more than your willing to forfeit.

Establish enough dialogue to gauge the sellers integrity. The majority of people I have bought kites from are honest good people who are upfront about the condition of the gear. If not, you can usually sniff em out with a simple easy request.