Naish Slash 2017 vr Slash 2018

Forum for kitesurfers
nikolaygadzhev77
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Naish Slash 2017 vr Slash 2018

Postby nikolaygadzhev77 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:14 pm

Whats up what is the different's between the 2017 to 2018 Slash is it wort the extra cost

magnusod
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: West coast Sweden
Favorite Beaches: Le Morne, Phan Rang, Kingfisher
Style: Waves
Gear: North Charge, Duotone Fish SLS, Gong Allvator Curve, Naish Slash, Naish Boxer

Re: Naish Slash 2017 vr Slash 2018

Postby magnusod » Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:52 am

First of all...I have NOT ridden any Slash yet but just received my 2018 Slash 6 and 8. I have only ridden Pivot 11 2016 from Naish.

My impression by reading both user reviews and tests it definitely felt like the 2018 was worth the extra money. Being an engineer I feel that it's usually better getting a more refined kite that has been out on the market and where they have made improvements based on the customer feedback.
For 2018 that included reducing the diameter of the LE and changing the design of the wing tips. This was to make the kite faster in the turns and also fly a bit more forward in the window. I did read some negatives about the 2017 that it was a bit harder going upwind.
The tests I read on the 2018 was definitely better than for the 2017. Of course if you get a reply from someone who tried both 2017 and 2018 that is way better but it's usually quite difficult getting those reviews.

Here's what Real Watersports says between 2017 and 2018.

Insider Info Slash 2017

We thought that this felt like the best version of the Park that Naish ever made, so we tested it out with wake boots and some freestyle tricks. We were right, and it works killer for freestyle. There is very little power surge when you unhook, it boosts well, and it is just as much fun to ride on a twin tip as a surfboard.