SigSavage
Rare Poster
Gear: Cabrinha, Best
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kite Suggestions using pre-existing control bars

Postby SigSavage » Tue May 08, 2018 9:45 pm

I am wondering if I could get some advice as to how I might add a mid-size kite (12m) to my quiver. I am a relative beginner to the sport, so am looking for a bow- type kite. Something of the Cabrinha Switchblade type.

I currently have a 2014 Cab Contra 17m that came with the Overdrive 1XL bar. I also have a 2015 Best Kahoona 9.5m that came with the RP V5 bar. I figure I can use either one for a 12m kite (with the 1XL set to its small size).

So I am wondering what kites these bars are future compatible with from their own and different manufacturers. I have been told to be very careful about mixing companies for bars and kites, especially new/old combinations. Now that kites never come with bars, I’d like to get an idea on what I should watch out for on EBay. I’m thinking of kites in the 2014-2017 range due to high costs of new kites. Switchblades of that era don’t come up very often or seem overpriced. Kahoonas don’t exist any more and any I’ve seen of old stock are small ones. So I’m wondering about equivalents from other brands that I could use my bars with.

Thanks for input!

foilholio
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Ventura Beach
Favorite Beaches: Tarifa
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Foils

Re: Kite Suggestions using pre-existing control bars

Postby foilholio » Tue May 08, 2018 10:05 pm

You shouldn't use a different brand bar with a different brand kite. The bars have special sensing technology that can read the Brand name or logo of the kite and suddenly stop working. This is very dangerous and why the reseller told you not to do it.

FLandOBX
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2007
Weight: 81 kg
Local Beach: Hatteras Island, North Carolina, USA
Central Florida, USA
Style: Freeride, Airstyle, Hydrofoil