Rare Poster
Gear: Cab FXs w/ xcal wood
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Question about boots & progressing

Postby pipelinez » Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Hey guys,

quick question about boots, im currently riding a cab xcal 141x43 with straps at about ~80kg/175lbs, it seems hard at times to hold the edge/go upwind consistently.
Haven't been kitesurfing that long, started earlier this year, but i've been riding wakeboard at cables since ~2009.

Anyone of you guys have experience with friends/yourself progressing onto boots early in their/your kite career?

Got told that i occasionally still have that "wakeboarding"-stance while edging, i.e. not completely extending my front leg.
A factor might be that I feel like not having the control over the board i would like to have. I can't edge as hard as i would like to, since the board is pretty wide and no matter how hard i pull the toes of my front foot towards me, i won't get the board to angle enough upwind.

The only concerns i have is being dragged on my belly with the board behind my head. No matter how hard the impact on a cable you can just let go of the handle and thats it. How do you guys normally handle those situations?

Appreciate anyone who took the time to read this.
cheers

tomato
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Sweden
Style: faceplant!!!
Gear: old

Re: Question about boots & progressing

Postby tomato » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:16 pm

maybe you are not bending your back leg? Also maybe too much edging in straight position- would just kill power and you plow water instead of going upwind. Twist you hips forward?
If you have hard time to edge- you can move pads 1 position lower to the edge- like light wind boards- will be easier to edge.

SaltWaterDog
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Copenhagen, most of Denmark and northern Germany.
Style: Biting off more than I can usually chew.
Gear: XR5, Fusion 3.

Postby SaltWaterDog » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:18 pm