Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

How to compress a vid for the web?

forum for kitesurfers


jever98
Frequent Poster
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby jever98 » Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:28 pm

Hi guys,

I just cut my first kite video this weekend on an apple (my flatmate's), using iVideo 2.
WHen I export the file, which is 3:23 long, it either comes out shitty quality (8MB), or super large.

What programs could I use to compress it without losing too much quality?

Also, has anybody got advice for good programs for PC?

THanks,
Nico

User avatar
sq225917
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 8743
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: BestKiteboarding.com

Postby sq225917 » Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:46 pm

nico, best of the bunch is premiere from adobe the pc, you'll find it on the web....

this is the industry standard software video editing package. sling it together with a $60 capture card on pc and you are go.

the problem with compressing video's relates to codecs, co-ders-decoders, these are the little fellas that do the compression.

best of the free to use bunch at the minute are the motion jpeg compressors and divx. search around to find decent copies of these.

file size and data rate are dependant on many things, frame size, frames per second, content of each frame. for most web stuff you can hack them down to 15frames per second.

if you have the original file available to download from somewhere, let me know and i'll edit it down for you and send it back out.

simon.

User avatar
Jan:)
Medium Poster
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby Jan:) » Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:59 pm


jever98
Frequent Poster
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby jever98 » Mon Nov 11, 2002 3:05 pm

On 2002-11-11 14:46, sq225917 wrote:
...
this is the industry standard software video editing package. sling it together with a $60 capture card on pc and you are go.


Thanks simon!

I understood the thing about the codecs. Will try to use divx for the little fella.

About the video capture card. Up to now, I was simply plugging the MiniDV Cam into the firewire port and downloading the stuff like that. I thought of making video CDs for myself to archive any recordings. Do I still need a video capture card?

Cheers
Nico

User avatar
Jan:)
Medium Poster
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby Jan:) » Mon Nov 11, 2002 3:09 pm

On 2002-11-11 15:05, jever98 wrote:
Thanks simon!

I understood the thing about the codecs. Will try to use divx for the little fella.

About the video capture card. Up to now, I was simply plugging the MiniDV Cam into the firewire port and downloading the stuff like that. I thought of making video CDs for myself to archive any recordings. Do I still need a video capture card?

Cheers
Nico


No

Hernan
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 734
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Postby Hernan » Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:25 pm

Jever:
The aplication you have used must be IMovie, not IVideo (I guess). Its a simple video editing program that works ok for "personal" movies.
You have many export options at the expert menu (export to quiktime).
The default options are fast but not good quality.
There are many formats (codecs) to choose from. FPS , music format, rate, compression, all counts.
Check the settings of the movies you have in your disc with the info palette at quicktime. You could cut a short time clip and export with different setting to compare quality and size. (sorenson looks good).

jever98
Frequent Poster
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby jever98 » Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:39 pm

Wicked guys, thank you!

Blow Me
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 960
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Location: Perth, OzTralia

Postby Blow Me » Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:45 am

Anybody use 'After Effects'?
What are the Minium Specs for Comps to do Video Edits?

I'm interested in getting into this.

ThanX!

User avatar
sq225917
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 8743
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: BestKiteboarding.com

Postby sq225917 » Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:41 am

unless you have dedicated hard disc support in the form of say an edit server or adigisuite, then its ram heavy baby.

get a very decent 'amd' box, and stick a gig of ram and the fastest drives you can find in it.

2gig amd cpu
striped scsi drives 120 gig
decent board, tyan thunder, maybe
make sure its usb 2 and firewire loaded
put 1 gig of ram in it
get premiere 6.5 and after effects, spend e150 on books and your there.

artistic skill allowing

Blow Me
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 960
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 1:00 am
Kiting since: 0
Location: Perth, OzTralia

Postby Blow Me » Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:05 pm

dope, I'll start saving my pennies.


Return to “Kitesurfing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jeromeL, Kitesitecapecod, MSNbot Media, tegirinenashi, zoharl and 19 guests

cron