*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:28 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 457
Location: Munich, Germany
Hi guys,

I just cut my first kite video this weekend on an apple (my flatmate's), using iVideo 2.
WHen I export the file, which is 3:23 long, it either comes out shitty quality (8MB), or super large.

What programs could I use to compress it without losing too much quality?

Also, has anybody got advice for good programs for PC?

THanks,
Nico


{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:46 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 8737
nico, best of the bunch is premiere from adobe the pc, you'll find it on the web....

this is the industry standard software video editing package. sling it together with a $60 capture card on pc and you are go.

the problem with compressing video's relates to codecs, co-ders-decoders, these are the little fellas that do the compression.

best of the free to use bunch at the minute are the motion jpeg compressors and divx. search around to find decent copies of these.

file size and data rate are dependant on many things, frame size, frames per second, content of each frame. for most web stuff you can hack them down to 15frames per second.

if you have the original file available to download from somewhere, let me know and i'll edit it down for you and send it back out.

simon.


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:59 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 178
Location: Hamburg, Germany
http://www.doom9.org/xvid.htm


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 3:05 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 457
Location: Munich, Germany
Quote:
On 2002-11-11 14:46, sq225917 wrote:
...
this is the industry standard software video editing package. sling it together with a $60 capture card on pc and you are go.


Thanks simon!

I understood the thing about the codecs. Will try to use divx for the little fella.

About the video capture card. Up to now, I was simply plugging the MiniDV Cam into the firewire port and downloading the stuff like that. I thought of making video CDs for myself to archive any recordings. Do I still need a video capture card?

Cheers
Nico


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 3:09 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 178
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Quote:
On 2002-11-11 15:05, jever98 wrote:
Thanks simon!

I understood the thing about the codecs. Will try to use divx for the little fella.

About the video capture card. Up to now, I was simply plugging the MiniDV Cam into the firewire port and downloading the stuff like that. I thought of making video CDs for myself to archive any recordings. Do I still need a video capture card?

Cheers
Nico


No


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:25 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 734
Jever:
The aplication you have used must be IMovie, not IVideo (I guess). Its a simple video editing program that works ok for "personal" movies.
You have many export options at the expert menu (export to quiktime).
The default options are fast but not good quality.
There are many formats (codecs) to choose from. FPS , music format, rate, compression, all counts.
Check the settings of the movies you have in your disc with the info palette at quicktime. You could cut a short time clip and export with different setting to compare quality and size. (sorenson looks good).


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:39 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 457
Location: Munich, Germany
Wicked guys, thank you!


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:45 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 960
Location: Perth, OzTralia
Anybody use 'After Effects'?
What are the Minium Specs for Comps to do Video Edits?

I'm interested in getting into this.

ThanX!


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:41 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 8737
unless you have dedicated hard disc support in the form of say an edit server or adigisuite, then its ram heavy baby.

get a very decent 'amd' box, and stick a gig of ram and the fastest drives you can find in it.

2gig amd cpu
striped scsi drives 120 gig
decent board, tyan thunder, maybe
make sure its usb 2 and firewire loaded
put 1 gig of ram in it
get premiere 6.5 and after effects, spend e150 on books and your there.

artistic skill allowing


Top
Profile
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:05 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 960
Location: Perth, OzTralia
dope, I'll start saving my pennies.


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, knotwindy, Laughingman and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group