Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Best Low Wind Kite??

forum for kitesurfers

motorssuck
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Postby motorssuck » Wed Dec 04, 2002 3:59 am

I was wondering what kind of kite I would look for to use in low wind and with a pretty good range. Also, I am just getting into kitesurfing and was wondering how the difficulty compares to windsurfing if anyone know. I already have done a lot of windsurfing.

BLOWN AWAY
Very Frequent Poster

Postby BLOWN AWAY » Wed Dec 04, 2002 9:31 am

With kitesurfing the conditions play a bigger part than with windsurfing... I used to windsurf in anything including zero wind, can't do that with kites.

However the learning curve is steeper and with the right gear you'll grasp the basics really quickly... after about a year you should be pretty sussed.

BLOWN AWAY

Postby Guest » Wed Dec 04, 2002 9:35 am

By "sussed" I mean jumping well and doing the odd basic trick, intermediate stuff really.

As for a good lightwind kite. I use a 20m AERO. The kite relaunches well for such a big kite and pulls hard and isn't hard to fly. Some foils go really well too. flysurfer have a lineup of foils that can be depowered and are very big and powerful. In general foils fly better than tubes in the reallight stuff...

BLOWN AWAY

Jan:)
Medium Poster

Postby Jan:) » Wed Dec 04, 2002 9:38 am

Its amazingly easy compared to windsurfing.

When learning it feels like 1 week kiteboarding is like 1 year of windsurfing, at the beginning at least.

I started this year end of august and did some good jumps including decent landings by mid october.

Hernan
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Hernan » Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:22 pm

If you want a kite with the biggest range and easy to learn on you have to look at a moderate aspect kite in sizes around 15.
Bigger sizes have more low end but they are not kites for learning (too much power and very difficult to relaunch).