All times are UTC + 1 hour

[ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:43 am 
Very Frequent Poster

Hey Guys/Gals.

As most of you know, I'm still fairly new at kitesurfing.

I have a fear in the back of my mind, and was wondering if anybody could offer any advice, or expiriences on it.

If you bail out there somewhere, maybe quite a ways from the shore, (or even close, it doesn't really matter), and you get tangled in your lines. I have a fear of getting tangled in my lines if I bail, and not being able to get out of them, or swim.

Is this common? Has it happened to anybody? Are there any good preventive measures to avoid this?

Any feedback, is really appreciated.

Cheers.

{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:58 am 
Medium Poster

Get a hook knife! They come with most kite specific harnesses now. What also works is a tool designed to cut your seatbelt (if your car goes under water etc). Since I have an older harness, I picked up this type of knife at a knife shop and it came with a sheath that fits perfectly on my harness strap. I haven't had to use it yet thankfully.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:43 am 
Very Frequent Poster

hey blown away ideally you dont get caught in your lines but if you do. ALWAYS carry a knife ready to cut your lines if you do get caught. Mind you i have been teaching a few classes myself where the kite is brought up behind my back when i have not been expexting it and my inital response is to ground the pilot and give them a serverstalking down.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:51 am 
Medium Poster

A Hook knife is definitely the way to go. A good one is the z-knife. I carry this for skydiving and kiteboarding, and I have noticed it has been modified for scuba diving.