Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Who drives the kite boarding market?

Forum for kitesurfers

What drives the market most for kite boarding?

Magazine Exposure
19%
Internet Forums
47%
Contest Performance
6%
Word of Mouth
28%

Total votes: 32

Hangwind
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Who drives the kite boarding market?

Postby Hangwind » Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:02 pm

I'm 42 and have been involved with solo pursuits since I was about five years old after my Mother introduced me to her skateboard (1965.) In my pursuit of fun, I graduated to surfing (1977), then to snowboarding (1978), then to hang and paragliding (1979) and on to kiting (2001).

What am I getting at?

Well, over the years, I have watched sports evolve. In the past, sports and the equipment evolved through a couple of different aspects. Contest performance, free riders, magazines, movies and television. The performance of the equipment was obviously rider driven to progress but the esthetics often were defined by the riders themselves.

My question isn't simple.

In this information age, I believe that the internet has a direct impact on our choices. People are now a part of the progression, not just a prima donna rider who is front page of a magazine. I see people who are not in the industry actually RIPPING as hard if not harder than the contestant. Online forums allow one to "self promote" and showcase performance against the industry.

Case in point? The plywood brigade...

I believe that this is important. Let the community be heard, not just an editors will.

So, breaking it down and simply making it one sentance, or even through a poll.

Who drives the market?

Who drives the market? Are we free thinkers? Are the kites available out there define what is really wanted by the purchasing populace. Do magazines have anything to do with your purchases? Why was the kite surfing label replaced by kite boarding? Why why why?

Do you have any thoughts on this?