travel kiteboard

Here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards
elnica
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

travel kiteboard

Postby elnica » Wed Sep 21, 2011 3:58 am

I decided to make a travel kiteboard. Waiting on the epoxy and fiberglass, should arrive tomorrow. Here is my progress so far. If it turns out well (doesn't break, etc), I'll write the steps I took. It's my first time making a board. Still not sure how to make the screw holes waterproof, if anyone has any suggestions. I will be using stainless t nuts, 4 along the overlap between the two bottom pieces and 4 for the foot pad screws that will go through the entire thickness of the board.

1/4 inch birch plywood. Bottom is made of 2 sheets with 3 inch overlap in the center. The top is one sheet. I will reinforce the top one with fiberglass and leave the bottom with epoxy only to avoid increasing the weight too much.

30 inches or less, might shorten it another inch if it doesnt fit in the suitcase I ordered.

Also not sure if I need some kind of mask/respirator when dealing with epoxy? I will be using the US composites 3 to 1 method. They said the epoxy is non-toxic but that seems strange.

Any suggestions are welcome!

loco4viento
Very Frequent Poster

Re: travel kiteboard

Postby loco4viento » Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:26 am

I think that is a great looking job.

Bille
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Lake Mohave
Gear: Ozone Edge
Brand Affiliation: Barz Optics
Jaybar Dynabar V7

Postby Bille » Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:25 pm

elnica wrote: ...
Also not sure if I need some kind of mask/respirator when dealing with epoxy? I will be using the US composites 3 to 1 method. They said the epoxy is non-toxic but that seems strange.

Any suggestions are welcome!
Doesn't matter if it does break; as long as you Learn from the possible mistake.
Just keep the passion going !!
Your work looks Really Good !!!

On the Epoxy thing...