Favorite Beaches: boracay
Style: surf
Gear: 2007 rev
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Modern wave kite

Postby al heginbotham » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:59 am

Hi could you guys help me please? I've just started kiting again, havnt done it since 2007 and I have made my mind up that strapless is the way for me, I have plenty of surf experience and after 4 sessions I'm gybeing ok it's not pretty but I'm doing 8 out of 10. I'm currently riding slingshot rev kites(2007) and intend to buy a dedicated wave kite(s) is the difference between the new wave kites and what I have really that different? The revs seem ok, turn quick, pretty stable, but possibly a bit to much pull when trying to surf at the kite in a cross on. Honest opinions please from those with wave kites, thanks in advance.

ciscokitesurfer
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Altona
Favorite Beaches: Pacasmayo
Style: wave, cruise
Gear: Neo

Re: Modern wave kite

Postby ciscokitesurfer » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:30 am

we have so many wave kites. I said NEO are the best, someone else will say REO, BWS, WAVE, SST and the list goes on. Buy a used wave kite two years old and used it until you know what you want. Do you want a kite the 1st better upwind than drifting.How much are you are willing to pay for a kite. Fone kite are very expensive. Would you buy online or brick shop? You need to tell us what sort of winds you have at your local spot. If my local beach has always
onshore wind i would prefer a kite that takes me upwind better than a kite that drifts amazing but the upwind sucks. I am looking forward to read everyone comments.

bigtone667
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2013
Local Beach: Birdie Beach, Budgewoi Beach, Lakes Beach
Favorite Beaches: Umina Beach, Birdies Beach, Lake Munmorah, Canton, The Swamp, Le Morne
Style: surf, foiling, jumping, lawn mowing
Gear: Kites: BRM Cloud D's, Duotone Rebels, Peaks
Wings: Cloud W1 2,3,4,5, Duotone DLAB Unit 4.5/5.5/6.5
Boards: Bit of everything