Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

smaler fins on a sector 60 ?

Forum for kitesurfers
mattthieu
Medium Poster
Local Beach: none so far
Favorite Beaches: snowy fields around !!
Style: snow kite ski for now !!
Gear: some foils, and two new LEI for this summer !
Brand Affiliation: none yet !!héhé
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

smaler fins on a sector 60 ?

Postby mattthieu » Sun Apr 08, 2012 1:25 pm

hi

i'm new to the sport, but, already in it deep !

and, i have a question for you, racers :

i found a huge deal on a sector 60 board ( it's the first version i think, from 2010 ) the guy is seeling it to me for 549 dollars, shiping include, it's new ( from a shop )..

i was going to buy it but, someone pointed me out that it is an old model of board, i should better buy the sector v3 instead ( only twice the price, héhé ).

ok so, i was going to buy it, but, one question, the fins are huge, and, in order to jide more easely and not get stucked in the seeweeds, i was thinking about getting some smaler fins for it to, the days i'm not into long race rides !!

so, from your experience, does it works ? can i downsize the fins ? can i get rounded fins ( like surf fins ?) and, i know, i would loose upwind, but, what size of fins could i get and stay as able to upwind as say, a twin tip ??

woudl dowsizing really improove jibing ? or would i loose all control ? :o

thanks in advance guys !!

oh, i was going to use that board for light wind board, medium wind racer and i got a TT for meduim and hight wind fun !! i weigt 85 kg....

john-brasil
Rare Poster
Local Beach: pirangi natal brazil
Style: racing
Gear: cabrinha
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: smaler fins on a sector 60 ?

Postby john-brasil » Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:43 pm

if you want to be up to date buy a 69board!
2011 or 2012.
Huge difference and much easier to ride!
Also to resell would be no problem.
The older versions are not worth a dime because nobody needs them any more,,

Good luck.

droffats