Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Some questions about racingrules

Forum for everyone who is into racing and speeding on kites.


gurke
Rare Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:11 pm
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Some questions about racingrules

Postby gurke » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:28 pm

hi,

anyone here who knows the racing rules good? I have some questions. Probably i will add some more the next days. :D

How big is normaly the zone around marks?

Image

1. Green can only change directions if orange change or he waits until orange overlaps him ?

2. If both or green is in the markzone, can green change directions even if he interfere orange?

3. Orange has the right?

4. Green has the right and orange have to wait, because they are in the markzone? If the wouldn't be in the zone orange has the right.

knot_moving
Frequent Poster
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:13 am
Kiting since: 2009
Gear: 9m, 13m bandit 3, SS Turbine,
Underground FLX 138, Sector V2 60, Jimmy Lewis Flight Deck
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: NW Florida

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby knot_moving » Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:01 pm

I believe the kite racing rules do not include a formal "zone" around a mark like in the basic sailing rules.
The rules apply when a racer "is about to round" a mark.
Generally at a windward mark the inside overlapped boat/racer can keep the outside and windward competitor from rounding for as long as they want to.
At leeward mark, the inside overlapped boat is to windward and so only has rights for the small time/positioning until a competent competitor can round the mark

gurke
Rare Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:11 pm
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby gurke » Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:43 pm

so in 2 and 4 orange has the rigth?

knot_moving
Frequent Poster
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:13 am
Kiting since: 2009
Gear: 9m, 13m bandit 3, SS Turbine,
Underground FLX 138, Sector V2 60, Jimmy Lewis Flight Deck
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: NW Florida

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby knot_moving » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:56 pm

2 - is not a normal windward mark rounding the way it is drawn. Typical course racing uses port rounding . The way I think you intend, they have to tack to round it to starboard. Since 18.3 is deleted, I would think orange has right of way just long enough to do a tack - if they try to extend and force green from tacking, then they are no longer "about to round" and orange becomes the give way racer since they are to windward
4- yes, boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward, so rule 18 does not apply. The orange racer is on starboard tack and so green is the give way racer.

Again you see that rounding mark to starboard sets up some odd situations.

evan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:48 pm
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Levitaz Bionic
Peter Lynn Aero
Brand Affiliation: Infexion
Peter Lynn
Contact:

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby evan » Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:37 pm

1- Yes, after the tack of green orange has the right of way. Green needs to tack in a way that does not hinder orange, so wait until orange also tacks or ga faster/slower to get enough room for his tack.
2- no in-course marks used as i know of, only a port-rounded upwind mark, a downwind mark or gate and start/finish line. Sometimes a spreader is used at the upwind mark.
3- yes, normal sailing/kiting right of way. Only odd thing is that we go 30kn+ on 150deg+ angles.
4- port-rounding solves this odd situation, in wich orange needs to tack twice to round the mark but can block green on his second tack if he stays in front of him. At least, that is how we deal with situations like this.

Having a kite makes some funny racing situations since you can block a rider coming from behind by keeping your kite low but on the other hand you can squeeze yourself through very tight spaces if the other racers forget to block you with their kite. A thing that is not possible with others sailing crafts.

Here the instructions and course from the Hydrofoil protour Mauritius:
http://hydrofoilprotour.info/wp-content ... -SI-v3.pdf
Attachments
course mauritius.JPG

gurke
Rare Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:11 pm
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby gurke » Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:30 am

Thx

I just race on snow and there we have normally diffrent courses. Problem is that almost none knows the rules. :D

gurke
Rare Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:11 pm
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby gurke » Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:19 pm

hi,

i have a few more questions.
Image


BY 1: Does red has the right or does green has the right, because he is in the zone to a mark? If red has the right, he has to make his turn without interfering green then?

2: Green is not allowed to make a turn as long as he would interfere red?

3. Green has to wait until red passes or does he make a turn after the mark if doesn`t interfere red by kite?

4. Green is allowed to make a turn after he passes the mark, because he doesn`t need to kite further than he needs to?

evan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:48 pm
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Levitaz Bionic
Peter Lynn Aero
Brand Affiliation: Infexion
Peter Lynn
Contact:

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby evan » Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:42 pm

Course on water is designed to eliminate the awkward situations you ask questions 1 & 4 about, maybe ask the organiser to make a course that makes more sense? Maybe also change the topic title to make clear it is about snowkite racing. Most of us only race on liquid water.

2: why would a gybe hinder the guy behind you? If he is gaining on red, red has the right of way until green is alongside red.

3: green needs to wait or pass the gate on the other side without a gybe. That is faster and why we normally have a gate.

gurke
Rare Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:11 pm
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby gurke » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:27 pm

sorry :( the painted marks doesn't build a course :D Just some situation.

Why can 1 and 4 not happen on the water??

evan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:48 pm
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Levitaz Bionic
Peter Lynn Aero
Brand Affiliation: Infexion
Peter Lynn
Contact:

Re: Some questions about racingrules

Postby evan » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:58 pm

Because you have to round the upwind mark the other way round so the one that has the layline on that mark has the right of way. That automaticly solves all odd situations you have when you must round it like you drawed.

I don't realy see the problem at 4, if they just round the mark after eachother why should there be any trouble? Or do you mean that green gybes and tacks around the mark and encounter red going downwind when green goes upwind? That is easily avoided by green to wait for his tack so he doesn't run into red.


Return to “Kiteracer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron