Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Kitesurfing. No experience boarding what so ever. Where to start?

Forum for kitesurfers
mikvahnrose
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Malibu State Park
Gear: None! Total Newbie
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kitesurfing. No experience boarding what so ever. Where to start?

Postby mikvahnrose » Wed Aug 10, 2016 12:43 am

It's been something that has always caught my eye and would love to learn how to do. I live in California and watch kite surfers pretty frequently and would love to take it up.

Problemo.

No boarding experience..what. so. ever. No surf board, skate board, snow board. Nope. I feel like a lot of people who take on kite boarding here (or i have at least read), have at least some other boarding experience.

Where do i start? I'm at ground zero, but have much enthusiasm to learn. I know it's going to be hard, but that's half the fun right?

I'm about 20-40 mins away from the beach (Santa Monica and Malibu) respectively. Know of any patient teachers out there who don't mind watching a small lady wipeout for an hour? :lol:

mbevo
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Hood River
Gear: cabinha and switch

Re: Kitesurfing. No experience boarding what so ever. Where to start?

Postby mbevo » Wed Aug 10, 2016 1:03 am

You don't need boarding experience. Kiteboarding is my first boardsport too. It's 80-90% kite flying.

Pick up a 2m-3m 3-LINE trainer kite and fly it according to the youtube videos. Once you are able to control it well, book a lesson and go from there. I flew my trainer kite for about 20 hours, was lot of fun and it taught me 2 things: 1. if I'm in trouble, let go of the bar. and 2. basic kite control. The real depower kite can take a little time to get use to because of the bar throw but the trainer kite will teach you good kite control so you don't accidentally send it into a loop.