All times are UTC + 1 hour

[ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: north bar question
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:24 pm 
Rare Poster

Could anyone with experience with north bars help me out? I am new to north kites and just got a 2011 dyno. I am trying to tune the bar and lines. I want to have the maximum depower throw with the bar so I adjust the vario cleat close to the top pulley. However I would also like to have the maximum depower for the kite which looks like to me that you have to adjust the vario cleat farther back from the top pulley. How much distance between the top pulley and the vario cleat should I have ? Does having more that about 6-7 inches increase the ability to depower the kite?
thanks for any help

{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
 Post subject: Re: north bar question
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:41 pm 
Very Frequent Poster

welcome to awesome Airstyle gear ;-)

You should do the depower as long as your arm is. So fully stretched your bar just hits the stopper.
Too long will be too inconvenience.

Then trim the kite that when fully sheeted in the kite has full power.

The rest will be extra depower if you need. For me with pretty long arms (186m height) I have about 12 cm or so between pulley and cleat when set to full power.

Attachments:
1 depower.png
1 depower.png [ 512.38 KIB | Viewed 702 times ]
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:29 pm 
Rare Poster

thanks Toby,
So when the stopper is pushed up as far as it goes and the depower strap is set to full power I set bar throw so that it reaches the stopper when my arms are fully extended. I do that by adjusting the vario cleat position. .
So what I am not sure about is then how do I trim the kite so that the kite has full power when fully sheeted in? Do I have line ends tied off and then pull bar all the way in and then adjust the cleat so the lines are all tight?