Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1998
Local Beach: Flag Beach, Fuerteventura
Style: Everything
Gear: Indiana, Sailmon
Brand Affiliation: Indiana, Sailmon

The Foil Buyers Guide (Updated)

Postby gmb13 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:16 pm

Laying here in my bed with a herniated disc and catching up on the Hydrofoil Forum I have noticed a flood of new things. That is great on one hand and on the other I feel that some are trying to mislead people about their products.

I spent some time thinking about how to get involved and commenting about things, and have decided the best way is to educate the enduser instead of commenting directly about what I believe to be wrong. I am a designer and retailer of Foils, so I probably am a bit biased, but I also would like endusers to be more knowledgeable and to force the rest of the brands to up their game when it comes to Marketing.

So here is my Buyers Guide to Foils. I kept it as general as possible. It should be a guide to help a person who is getting into Foiling and looking at buying a new Foil decide what to look for in the Videos and other Marketing. Basically it's things I look for in the Videos to see if a Foil or concept is really good or not.

The Foil Consumers Buyers Guide

1) If it sounds to good to be true, it probably is. Always be sceptical of companies or individuals offering the world for next to nothing prices. I do no think I need to say much more about this as the Carafino debacle is proof enough of what can happen.

2) Videos: There are telltale signs to see if a foil is good, and is working the way the brand is telling you it is.