A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders

crazysurf
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Gear: Zephyr and 7 & 10 Evos. Homemade TTs
Brand Affiliation: None

How big is Kite Hydrofoiling?

Postby crazysurf » Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:34 pm

I am usually an early adopter of wind sport (windsurf when 12 in 1981 (46 now - to save you doing the maths) and kitesurfing in 2000) but family interrupted and sent me into sailing. They are now no longer interested so I am back.

Foil boarding is a nice new recent challenge which seems to be going pretty well so far...

Down to business! I am an engineer with some aerospace and fluid dynamics experience who has made many carbon kiteboards (don't make any anymore but still ride my own - as do a few others) and am now bored of my job. I am thinking about the kitesurfing business and know this is a bit fictional but how big is the Hydofoil market now?

I see the market split between:
- home build (well done you guys if you make it work)
- beginners
- experienced
- race

Anyone hazard a guess as to how many there are in each category (Peter_Frank???)?

Hoping to live the dream and work my passion...

wil
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2008
Local Beach: Raglan, Tauranga New Zealand
Favorite Beaches: Aitutaki
Style: free ride
Gear: Switch Kites and Decay boards, Naish Venturi, NJS CF6, Makaira Zeeko foil, Home made foil Clearwater creations wings

Re: How big is Kite Hydrofoiling?

Postby wil » Mon Nov 02, 2015 10:46 pm