Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Sanding / Painting my Sword 2

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders

Jugglajon
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Local Beach: Cleethorpes, Lytham, or wherever I end up.
Favorite Beaches: Clee, Lytham, Holbox, Keros, Long Bay - Turks and Caicos, Rawai, OBX
Style: freeride, surf, freerace, ski, landboard
Gear: Axis 136 limited
Airush Sector V3 60
13m Cab Velocity
10m ozone edge
15m chrono v2
Taaroa sword2
Axis race foilboard
Brand Affiliation: Holbox Kiteboarding school manager

Sanding / Painting my Sword 2

Postby Jugglajon » Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:53 pm

I've been riding my sword 2 for a couple of years now, its still in great shape with only very minor scratches but I'm thinking of having ago at touching it up.
I've been watching Gunnar's videos and he seems to suggest that most race foils need touching up from the start .

I'm nervous to start painting and sanding as I find lots of contradictory information here.

From the search function it seems that bondo and wet sanding is one option.
painting and sanding is another ,does it matter which paint?

The thing which i'm finding difficult to understand is what grit paper I need to use and where.
And more importantly is it worth it?

I ride mainly in warm 28C salty water. I don't currently race but love blasting fast.

Cheers

Jonny

TheJoe
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: Texas city levee, Galveston, El Jardine and Crystal beach.
Style: Wake, surf, freeride
Gear: Slingshot RPM 14/12/10 Fuels 13/9/7
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Sanding / Painting my Sword 2

Postby TheJoe » Fri Jun 30, 2017 4:30 pm

Is it carbon or aluminum? If it's carbon I would sand it down and epoxy the hot coat and not paint. I would do the same if it's aluminum but not sure. I know to paint aluminum you have to acid wash it for the paint to stick. Then again I'm lazy and would just sand down the nicks and leave it that.

Yodarocket31
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2014