Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Kite loop to waterstart

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
Little Steve
Rare Poster
Local Beach: North End, Virginia Beach
Favorite Beaches: North End, First Landing State Park, Cape Charles, Hatteras Island
Style: Waves, flat water, TT, strapless, foil
Gear: Cabrinha Contra/Switchblade/Drifter/LF Solo
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kite loop to waterstart

Postby Little Steve » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:26 pm

Hey I’m new to foiling and am having hit or miss success. Seems like as soon as I get up and moving my kite immeadiately wants to stall and come down. Some of this is probably because I am trying to go in very minimal winds, like 12 mph lulling to sub 10 mph. Also I’m thinking my kites (switchblades and drifters 9 m, 11 m, and 13 m are heavy and not prone to hanging in marginal conditions. My best seshes have been on the 11 m switch in wind where it is barely whitcapping. I also have a 6.5 Solo that I have not tried yet so I am tempted to try it in those same conditions because it is lighter than the bigger Cabrinhas. The question is which way do you loop the kite to get up and going, back loop or front down loop with the kite going back up and heading forward at the end of the loop? Or is that kite too small in 10 to12 mph to get me moving after I am up? I have watched some of the other guys on very small kites but didn’t notice which way they were looping.

salvino
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Eastern end of Lake Erie
Favorite Beaches: Barbados
Hatteras
Lakes Erie and Ontario
Gear: Stallion SB
Moses 633,590,500 HF
Temavento board
Grooveskate board
Airush Ultra, North Neo 5,7,9

Re: Kite loop to waterstart

Postby salvino » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:34 pm

Back loop so as kite is moving through power zone it will be moving same direction of your water start.

A very useful technique for lighter winds

Little Steve
Rare Poster