Wazza Foil
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Hams
Style: Kite surfing strapless. Foil, SUP and ka
Gear: lots
Brand Affiliation: None

Carbon foil cosmetic quality

Postby Wazza Foil » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:49 am

I am new to carbon race foil quality and what to expect.
Are these foils all nice and shinny without manufacturing visual defects eg scratches, filling due to air holes, protruding screw heads etc.
Is it up to the user to smooth out surfaces of these pricy foils or they ready to go?

gmb13
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1998
Local Beach: Flag Beach, Fuerteventura
Style: Everything
Gear: Indiana, Sailmon
Brand Affiliation: Indiana, Sailmon

Re: Carbon foil cosmetic quality

Postby gmb13 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:19 am

Most Race foils on the Market are delivered nice and shinny (mold release) which is not really what you are looking for. You will need to sand them to a matte finish to get the most out of them. Also you will usually have a few imperfections and pinholes which will need filling. I have tested a lot of Race foils in the last 3 years, and so far I have never gotten one with a perfect finish.

--
Gunnar

plummet
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: EE
Favorite Beaches: NZ
Style: Terrain riding
Gear: Old wornout ozone.
Plummet hydrofoil and mutant

Postby plummet » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:22 am

gmb13 wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:19 am
Most Race foils on the Market are delivered nice and shinny (mold release) which is not really what you are looking for. You will need to sand them to a matte finish to get the most out of them. Also you will usually have a few imperfections and pinholes which will need filling. I have tested a lot of Race foils in the last 3 years, and so far I have never gotten one with a perfect finish.

--
Gunnar

That just seems a bit fucked. I understand why but non the less its still fucked.

cwood
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Southern Ontario
Gear: Flysurfer
Moses Hydrofoil
Brand Affiliation: Moses, Flysurfer