Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Zeeko upgrade (low budget carbon T bar)

Here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards
tmcfarla
Frequent Poster

Zeeko upgrade (low budget carbon T bar)

Postby tmcfarla » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:59 am

Long post- if you are interested in building a carbon foil and have limited experience, this might be worth reading. Otherwise, maybe skip this one. I've read a bunch of posts from people far more talented than me, and they were extremely helpful, but many were written by people who assumed the reader knew what the hell they were doing, and I did not. This is by a clumsy hack for clumsy hacks.

I've been riding a Zeeko aluminum foil for a couple years now, pretty much all I ever use anymore, and also the only foil I've used. The fuselage got pretty bent out of shape after repeated grounding while learning, so I decided to make a single piece mast+fuse out of carbon. I am using the stock Zeeko wings on it, I think wings are best left to the professionals. I don't have any real experience with composites, and I don't have access to any fancy tools (this was done mostly with a hack saw, sand paper, and hand drill). I also don't have a garage, much less a work shop. I did this on my living room floor with a piece of plywood as a work area. Vacuum bagging was done with a vacuum cleaner and extra large vacuum storage bags ($10 for 2 on amazon). Mast is about 13mm thick and total weight of t-bar is 1.2 kg, or just over 2 kg with stock Zeeko wings (g10) attached. Had my first ride yesterday, and it went really well. It is so much easier to water start a light foil strapless. Foil is totally silent (so far). My aluminum mast occasionally sings, but not much. I made the mast about 2 inches shorter than stock mast because I ride mostly in shallow water, and I think that was a mistake, but aside from that it seems to work as well or better than stock mast/fuse.