First time in the snow. Colorado

Forum for snow- and landkiters
Tunico
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

First time in the snow. Colorado

Postby Tunico » Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:34 am

Hi
I'm about to depart on a trip to Colorado to introduce my childrem to snow and skiyng. I'm a experienced kitesurfer in Brazil, but never skied.
I will be at Beaver Creek.
Is it possible do do some snow kiting there? kites for rent? I could easilly take a Blade or two with me, take some snowboarding classes and head for the flats...in it that simple? Is the topography there favorable?
Skis are easier than snowboards (for a total beginner)?

Thanks in advance for any info

[]'s
Tunico Lage

toyletbowl
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Olbrich, Governor Nelson, Tenney, Burrows and McDaniels.
Favorite Beaches: Olbrich on SW and McDaniels on a SSW.
Sheboygan when it blows hard on a NE.
Style: Waves, Twin tip and Foilboards.
Gear: Whatever is available.
Brand Affiliation: Cabrinha, Slingshot, Core, Armstrong, Axis, NP Surf, Ride engine, Mystic. www.kiteridersllc.com

Postby toyletbowl » Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:40 pm

tunico, i used to teach skiing at beaver creek. great place, but probably not much kiting in the are, but it's been a while.

don't mix learning to kite with learning to snowboard and ski. especially for kids. make sure they can ride first well before you put a kite in thier hands. keep the groms safe and once they are good riders, then put a kite in thier hands.

Postby Guest » Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:29 pm

Alpine Kayak at the base of Beaver Creek in Avon, CO is selling snow kites and I believe has rentals.
You can check them out at:
http://www.alpinekayak.com

Hope that helps.

Tunico

Postby Tunico » Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:12 am

toyletbowl...
Sorry if I didn't express myself correctly. I have no intention of puting kites in my little girls hands!