Forum for snow- and landkiters
ShredMasterPlus
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Questions about Getting Started Snow Kitting

Postby ShredMasterPlus » Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:10 pm

Hi, this is my first post here and first Kite forum that I have joined. I am an avid downhill skiier and am fairly good at it. Love hitting cliffs and done a little bit of park riding. I'm currently stuck in Onterrible(Ontario) and am looking at spending the majority of the winter here.

I have been interested in kite sports for quite some time but really have just had nowhere to get started. None of my friends around here do it and I have only seen maybe 3 or 4 people out on the water throughout the summer. But of those 3 or 4 people they looked like they were having a BLAST.

I have no kite experience what so ever but as mentioned above have lots of skiing experience. I have just purchased a pair of k2 obsethed ski's, I am 150pounds, 5feet 6inches 20years old and looking to tear it up this winter. My area to be riding will be on frozen Lake Huron and many open fields all around where I live. Everything is pretty much flat with very few hills. I would like it if i could get a kite that would be easy to learn the basics with but still be able to go humm around a little bit. Should I go straight to a 6-9m kite or start with something really small just to get the hang of it?. I'm sorry for knowing absolutely nothing but I gotta start somewhere. Anyways i'm looking for suggestions on equipment and maybe if anyone knows anywhere that offers lessons in the winter in southwestern ontario(I'm located in Sarnia Ontario) that would be awesome. Thanks alot for all your help guys n get ur shred on

irwe
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Keswick
Favorite Beaches: Choche
South Padre Island
Silver Rock
Bahia Salinas
Style: Allaround
Gear: Ocean Rodeo
Slingshot
Spleen
Axis
Best
Shinn
TKF
ConceptAir
Zeeko

Re: Questions about Getting Started Snow Kitting