Tableview - Cape Town, South Africa
Style: Big Air :D
Gear: 2022 Dice 10m/12m SLS, 2022 Rebel SLS 12m, 2022 15m Aluula Juice
2017 Core Choice 2 142, 2020 Duotone Jaime Textreme, 2014 Best Breeze 145,
Brand Affiliation: The Maui Kitesurf Company
www.mauikitesurf.com

Snow kiting with skis

Postby dracop » Sat May 03, 2014 7:06 pm

Hey guys, I am curious about snow kiting with skis. I love the idea of snow kiting with my skis but looking for info on how to pair it all up and the best way to try it out.

I'm a beginner kitesurfer working on edging/upwind (altho well see how much farther I get by this winter), my quiver is a 12m and 16m 2013 NRG. Ski wise, I love aerials and do alot of jumps/drops, I have both fat wide powder skis (128 underfoot by 190 length) and all mountains (90 underfoot by 186).

Could I use my 12m LEI kite with my powder skis to go over lakes? rolling hills/plains? downhill mountains? Is it too much? too little?

If I like it (prob will) I will eventually buy a dedicated foil for snow kiting (less damage on land crashes). I see guys on snowkiting vids doing huge jumps across long distances, that looks like fun to me!

NorCalNomad
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: San Francisco
Gear: Why should it matter?
Has thanked: 0

Re: Snow kiting with skis

Postby NorCalNomad » Sun May 04, 2014 4:22 am

Depends on what the wind is like where you'll go just like regular kiting. But you will be sizing down in kite size since you only have to worry about forward motion and not fighting gravity to stay planing.

robertovillate
Very Frequent Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Postby robertovillate » Sun May 04, 2014 6:01 am

Just about any skis will work. Depending on the conditions you have you might benefit from one type of ski or another. But in general a traditional sidecut is going to be more enjoyable. A good all-mountain ski with early rise is great for the crud and powder and "off-piste" snow that we usually encounter with kites.